splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

My #Review of The Kensington Kidnap by Katie Gayle – #CosyMystery #Funny #Series

 

Title: The Kensington Kidnap

Series: Epiphany Bloom Mysteries # 1

Author:  Katie Gayle

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Date:  

Pages: 238

Rating: 4/5*

 

My Review:

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

This is a cosy mystery with the accident prone Epiphany (Pip) Bloom as the main character. Pip has had a series of disastrous, short-lived jobs and is used to being bailed out of difficulties by her Mum . . . . but Mum has put her foot down and closed her purse so Pip needs a job to enable her to pay her rent.

When Pip goes to work filing at a Private Investigators she is immediately taken into a meeting where they assume she’s someone else and discuss the disappearance of Matty Price, the son of two celebrities. She doesn’t correct their assumptions of her identity and instead sets off to endeavour to discover where Matty is . . . . and even more fun starts!

This is a story with a wide range of characters, plenty of laugh out loud incidents, a serious investigation and life threatening scenario as Pip helps uncover much more than she’d ever anticipated. I’m very happy this is the start of a new series and I look forward to reading more of Pip’s (mis)adventures in future – I can’t wait to read how she gets on with her boxing lessons as well as her new job!

 

Synopsis:

A missing teenager, a mysterious cult and a case of mistaken identity – just another day’s work for Epiphany Bloom.

Epiphany ‘Pip’ Bloom is down on her luck. She can barely afford cat food, and just because Most has three legs doesn’t mean he eats any less. So she absolutely can’t afford to mess up her latest temp job. But when she walks through the door of the private investigation firm, her new boss mistakes her for a missing persons expert. He then charges her with finding Matty Price – the teenage son of two A-list celebrities – who has mysteriously disappeared from his home in Kensington.

It ought to be a disaster, but Pip reckons it’s actually an opportunity. She’s always been curious (nosy, her mother calls it) and has an uncanny knack for being at the wrong place at the right time (she doesn’t want to know what her mother thinks of that). After years of trying to find something she’s good at, has Pip managed to walk straight into the job she was born to do?

She owes it to herself and poor missing Matty to find out.

But searching for Matty takes Pip into the strange, intimidating world of the rich and famous. And it soon becomes clear that some of these people’s love for themselves doesn’t extend to their fellow humans.

As Pip investigates further, she realises the question isn’t whether Matty ran away – it’s whether Pip will find him alive and make it home safely herself…

An absolutely brilliant, light-hearted cozy mystery for fans of M.C. Beaton, T E Kinsey, Lauren Elliott and Joanne Fluke, featuring an irresistible new heroine.

Author Bio:
Katie Gayle is the writing partnership of best-selling South African writers, Kate Sidley and Gail Schimmel. Kate and Gail have, between them, written over ten books of various genres, but with Katie Gayle, they both make their debut in the cozy mystery genre. Both Gail and Kate live in Johannesburg, with husbands, children, dogs and cats. Unlike their sleuth Epiphany Bloom, neither of them have ever stolen a cat from the vet.
https://twitter.com/KatieGayleBooks
Buy Links:
Amazon: https://bit.ly/396HfGh
Apple: https://apple.co/33eKAi1
Kobo: https://bit.ly/35pAIF0
Google: https://bit.ly/2FobH1R
Follow the tour:

One comment on “My #Review of The Kensington Kidnap by Katie Gayle – #CosyMystery #Funny #Series

  1. Carla
    December 3, 2020

    Great review Elaine. I am reading this right now and am definitely enjoying it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: