splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Heartbreaking #CrimeThriller – Saltwater Graves by BR Spangler   

 

 

 

Title: Saltwater Graves   

Series:Detective Casey White #3

Author:  BR Spangler   

Publisher: Bookouture 

Published: Dec 14th 2020

 

 

My Review:

This is another enthralling read in the Detective Casey White crime thriller series but this one is also one filled with heartbreak and sorrow for the leading lady.

When a series of women are found murdered how does an ex-detective, a known killer, currently serving time in jail, seems to know what is happening? To make matters even more complicated for Casey, how does her romantic partner, Jericho Flynn, fit into it all? With more women being found dead and the evidence seeming to indicate Jericho as the perpetrator should she arrest him or trust her love and instincts and fight to clear his name?

This is a story of opposites, love and hate, belonging and ostracising, a story of betrayal, vengeance and a woman scorned. It has mysteries and murders along with some shocking surprises, heartbreaking revelations and devastating trauma in an engaging read.

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

Plunging under the cold ocean surface, her long blonde hair drags in the current and she frantically kicks towards the light. With her arms and legs tied she is helpless. As water fills her lungs, she has just one regret. She never told anyone about her date.

On a lonely stretch of coast at daybreak in North Carolina’s Outer Banks, Detective Casey White is shocked to find the drowned body of a much-loved local woman, Ann Choplin, her beautiful face covered with specks of sand. The green and white rope binding her wrists reveals the terrifying truth that this innocent mother’s death was no accident.

With the incoming tide flooding the scene and swallowing all evidence, Casey’s team has nowhere to turn… but it’s Casey who realizes this beach will be devastatingly familiar to her partner, ex-sheriff Jericho Flynn. His wife was found murdered here years ago, thrown into the ocean alive just like Ann. But the twisted and jealous woman guilty of that crime has been in prison for years.

Days later, another woman is found drowned on the same beach, her wrists tied. Casey fears a copycat killer is on the loose, playing a deadly game with Jericho by digging up the horrors of his past.

Certain that finding a link between these women will crack the case, Casey works through the night digging into their lives and finds an old photo of the two victims at school together, smiling in their cheerleader uniforms. But cold betrayal floods Casey as she sees Jericho in the background. She’d thought it was safe to let him into her life, but he never once mentioned he knew the victims. What other secrets is he hiding?

When a coil of green and white rope is found in his garage, Casey’s whole team is convinced that the mounting evidence is stacked against Jericho. But with Casey’s instincts screaming that Jericho could never hurt anyone, it will mean risking her own career—and her life—to clear his name. If she’s wrong, she is placing her trust in a killer… but if she’s right, more innocent women are in terrible danger.

An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller, with twists and turns that will leave you breathless. Fans of Robert Dugoni, Kendra Elliot and Rachel Caine will be addicted.

BUY LINKs:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08HNJ3JNLSocial

Apple: http://ow.ly/52CV50BlFeU

Kobo: http://ow.ly/3joj50BlFap

Google: http://ow.ly/B1i050BlMq4

Author Bio:

B.R. Spangler here. I’m a resident of Virginia along with my family, five cats, two birds, a hamster, and a lizard. During the day, I work as an engineer and spend my off hours writing, editing, and thinking up the next great story.

I split my time across pen names, writing crime thrillers, science fiction, horrors, paranormal and contemporary fiction.

Author Social Media Links:

To keep up to date, sign up for his newsletter by copying and pasting this link into your browser: https://brspangler.com/sign-up/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/BR_Spangler

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/authorbrianspangler/

 

Follow the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: