splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Edge of your seat, enthralling read – The Patriot by Nick Thacker #Thriller #BlogTour

 

Title: The Patriot

Series: Jake Parker #2

Author:  Nick Thacker

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: Sept 10th 2020

Pages: 339

Rating: 4.5/5*

 

My Review:

This is an action packed, fast paced thriller in which Jake Parker is convinced to travel to Puerto Rico to investigate a drugs cartel who may have been responsible for the terrorist attack which murdered his wife. I hadn’t known about the conflicting points of view regarding whether Puerto Rico should continue with its current status, become independent or recognised as another state and part of the USA, but this background is skilfully interwoven into the story, adding further depth to the intrigue involving pharmaceutical companies, drug cartels and terrorism.

This story is an enthralling page turner, an edge of your seat read that has so many twists to throw you off track. With drugs, dealers, danger and deceit, this story has it all. There’s also murder, mystery, mis-direction and mischief but the twist at the very end it the part to got me – so shocking! I’m definitely not telling you more about that but enough to say that it has certainly made me want to read the next book in this series even more!

As danger mounts, new friendships may help but family secrets, divided loyalties, moles and money will all be involved before this story ends. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and have no hesitation in highly recommending this book (and this series)!

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I voluntarily read and have honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

A deadly attack is coming. American lives are on the line. And Jake Parker stands alone to stop it.

Jake Parker works best alone. Ex-military, ex-detective, he has a specific set of skills that make him invaluable on top-secret operations. And still grieving his wife’s death, he has no personal ties which could compromise a mission.

But Jake does have an all-consuming anger towards Mel’s killers, cartel members who evaded justice. When he is recruited for a shady job in Puerto Rico, taking down the linchpin in a planned assassination of a US ambassador, Jake realizes that revenge is within reach as he discovers he’s been led to the person behind Mel’s death. This mission just got personal.

But as he sets his plan in motion, Jake learns something else. This attack is just the start of a much bigger plot against innocent US citizens. Jake is the only one in place to stop a campaign of terror from tearing his country apart, but it makes the man he wants untouchable, and worse, the cartel are now after him with ruthless and deadly determination. What price will Jake pay trying to save innocent American lives?

A non-stop action thriller from a USA Today bestselling author. An unputdownable read for fans of David Baldacci, Tim Tigner, and the Jack Ryan thrillers.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08NPX1Z66Cover

Apple: http://ow.ly/2c3P50CnINo

Kobo: http://ow.ly/rpe750CnILs

Google: http://ow.ly/Noom50CWJHK

 

Author Bio:

Nick Thacker is the USA Today Bestselling Author of action-adventure thrillers and mysteries, including the Harvey Bennett Thrillers series. Often mentioned as a cross between Clive Cussler and James Rollins, his stories are written in a fast-paced, punchy style.

He lives on a volcano in Hawaii with his wife, two kids, and two dogs.

Author Social Media Links:

TWITTER:  https://twitter.com/NickThacker

FACEBOOK:  https://www.facebook.com/AuthorNickThacker/

 

Follow the tour:

One comment on “Edge of your seat, enthralling read – The Patriot by Nick Thacker #Thriller #BlogTour

  1. Pingback: January 2021 Review Posts Round Up | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: