splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Double trouble in this fantastic, fun read – Faking It by Portia MacIntosh #RomCom #BlogTour

 

The perfect house, the perfect husband and the perfect life… or is she just faking it?

Life has been a bit of a rollercoaster for Ella. Growing up as the ‘less successful’ identical twin to her ‘perfectly successful’ sister, Emma, has left her feeling isolated, inadequate and let’s face it.. a little bitter.

When Emma unexpectedly reaches out to Ella in a time of need, Ella suddenly finds herself with the opportunity to fill in for her sister and experience how the other half live.

But as Ella navigates the world of gossiping mothers, rebellious teens and trying to play the model housewife (not to mention avoiding the temptation of attractive men at the school gates…) will she discover that all is not always as it seems on the other side?

Discover the brilliantly funny new romantic comedy from top 10 bestseller Portia MacIntosh. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Sophie Ranald and Lindsey Kelk

 

My Review:

What a fantastic, moving and fun read this book is – hilarious and totally packed with laugh out loud incidents!

Identical twins don’t necessarily have identical personalities or lives. That is particularly true for Emma and Ella. As a teen, Emma married her childhood sweetheart, had her first child, inherited a fortune from her Mum and kicked her twin sister out of their home. Ella was always the rebellious twin, the one who kicked back against authority and got into mischief. Now they’re approaching their thirty-fifth birthday and Emma calls to request Ella’s help . . . . she wants Ella to pretend to be her, living her life, looking after her two children who don’t know Ella – whilst Emma goes to prison for six weeks. What will it be like pretending to be her wealthy twin? Definitely a shock to the system – especially with Emma’s rebellious daughter to care for and handsome men around to tempt Ella!

This is a great read, showing how life can be so different to that you expect when moving to live in someone else’s place. The story is definitely a great romcom but that ending is so emotional! Ella trying to fit in with Emma’s rich, gossiping friends, taking over organising tasks, dealing with strangers who assume she knows them, trying to cater for the children who assume she’s their Mum . . . a fabulous fun read that I thoroughly enjoyed!

Thanks to Boldwood Books and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3eF5ah3

Author Bio – 

Portia MacIntosh is a bestselling romantic comedy author of over 15 novels, including My Great Ex-Scape and Honeymoon For One. Previously a music journalist, Portia writes hilarious stories, drawing on her real life experiences.

Social Media Links – 

Newsletter sign up: http://bit.ly/PortiaMacIntoshNewsletter

https://portiamacintosh.com/

https://www.facebook.com/macintoshportia

https://twitter.com/PortiaMacIntosh

http://instagram.com/portiamacintoshauthor

http://bookbub.com/authors/portia-macintosh

2 comments on “Double trouble in this fantastic, fun read – Faking It by Portia MacIntosh #RomCom #BlogTour

  1. Carla
    February 1, 2021

    I put a request in to my library to get this one. I loved her last book. This sounds fun, but with some serious issues as well. Wonderful review Elaine.

    Like

  2. Pingback: January 2021 Review Posts Round Up | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: