splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

1933 #Cosy #Murder #Mystery – Murder in the Bell Tower by Helena Dixon  

 

Title: Murder in the Bell Tower

Series: Miss Underhay Mysteries #5

Author: Helena Dixon  

Publisher: Bookouture 

Publication Day: Feb 1st 2021

Pages: 244

Rating: 4/5*

 

My Review:

This is a delightful cosy murder mystery set in December 1933 and a brilliant addition to the Miss Underhay Mysteries series. It is another intriguing, cosy, well paced, historical murder mystery that keeps you turning the pages, looking for clues and jumping to conclusions. It features Miss Kitty Underhay as the intrepid young lady who seems to be great at inadvertently becoming embroiled in solving murder mysteries. I actually believe the stories will also work well as standalones, especially as I’ve only read one of the previous books in the series.

In this story, Kitty is staying with her Aunt, Uncle and Cousin at Enderley Hall for the festive season. She’s looking forward to enjoying the festivities as her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, will be staying there, too. They are joined by other guests of her Uncle and, whilst Kitty and Matt were looking forward to a relaxing break, the unease build as they get to know the newcomers and the villagers but there’s a murderer in their midst. Can Kitty and Matt help  Inspector Greville bring the perpetrator to justice before any of them become another of his victims? You’ll have to read it for yourself to find out!

This is an enjoyable read, a great mix of family drama, romance and murder mystery, with well developed characters and plenty of twists to keep you guessing.  I don’t usually comment on the synopsis for a book – but I have to say that some of the official blurb for this one doesn’t actually reflect on what happens in the story I read – so be ready for some unexpected surprises! If you enjoy cosy murder mysteries set in the 1930s, I highly recommend you read this one!

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

Kitty Underhay’s hymn book is open… at murder.

Winter, 1933. Kitty Underhay is enjoying a restorative break from sleuthing on a visit to her family at Enderley Hall. The only thing marring her peace – aside from the uncomfortable sensation she has of being watched – is the obvious history between her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant and another guest, the beautiful Juliet Vanderstafen. So, when the parish clerk is found dead on her front doorstep, Kitty leaps at the chance of distraction.

The police are happy to conclude that Miss Plenderleith met her unfortunate end on a patch of ice, but Kitty isn’t convinced this was a case of bad weather and worse luck. And when the Reverend Crabtree fails to show for tea the next day, she heads to the church to speak to him. But she arrives to find the clergyman hanging from the bell rope, dead.

With Matt seemingly wrapped up with his alluring Austrian, Kitty must solve the case on her own. But as she snoops into parish affairs, she makes some less-than-saintly discoveries. Just who has broken the sixth commandment? Meanwhile the killer is preparing a churchyard grave for Kitty, and she’ll have to use all her wits to avoid falling in…

An addictive, absorbing and completely unputdownable Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Buy Links:  https://geni.us/B08LKT7HSRCover

Author Bio:

Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to

adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.nelldixon.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/nell.dixon

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/NellDixon

Follow the tour:

5 comments on “1933 #Cosy #Murder #Mystery – Murder in the Bell Tower by Helena Dixon  

  1. Carla
    February 5, 2021

    Nice review Elaine. I finished this earlier this week and will be posting my review tonight. It was my first in this series and I liked it. I really like Kitty Underhay’s character.

    Like

  2. Satabdi
    February 5, 2021

    Great review!

    Like

  3. Pingback: 10 Posts for you to Read This Week (11-Feb-2021) – Satabdi Mukherjee

  4. Pingback: 10 Posts for you to Read This Week (11-Feb-2021) – Book Reviews by Satabdi

  5. Pingback: Book Review Recommendations (11-Feb-2021) – Book Reviews by Satabdi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: