splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Home On Folly Farm by Jane Lovering

Needing an escape, Dora swapped city living for life as a shepherdess on her grandad’s Yorkshire farm. More than a decade later Dora is still there, now farming the fifty acres and caring for the one hundred rare sheep by herself. She never hears the call of the city, but instead relishes the peace and simplicity of life on the Moors.

When Dora’s glamorous but quarrelsome sister Cass, her teenage nephew Thor and his handsome tutor Nat, turn up for an unexpected and unreasonably long stay, life on the farm is thrown into chaos. Cass brings with her unwelcome memories from the past, and of someone who once stole Dora’s heart. 

Dora takes refuge in the comforting routine of the farm, the sheep never allowing her too much time to dwell. But, as the seasons change, the snow starts to melt, and as lambs begin to fill the fields, Dora can’t keep hiding in the hills. Because even though she’s trying, Dora can’t run away from a love that never really let her go…

Let Jane Lovering whisk you away to the beauty and serenity of the Yorkshire Moors, far away from the noise of the city. Just right for fans of Emma Burstall, Holly Martin and Kate Forster.

My Review

This is a second chance contemporary romance and family drama set on a Yorkshire farm. It is to this farm that Dora escaped more than a dozen years ago. She moved to live with her Grandad, learning more about his farm and the rare breed sheep that he raises there. After his death, she inherited the farm and has continued living and working there alone ever since. Well, until now! Uninvited, her sister, Cass(andra), turns up bringing with her, her twelve year old son, (Haw)Thor(n) and his tutor, Nat and proclaims she’ll be staying with Dora for around three months . . . . Dora and Cass have had little to do with each other over the years and are truly opposites in personality. Dora is hard working, independent and enjoys peace and quiet. Cass is used to having their Mum looking after her and Thor, more used to having manicures than working or getting her hands dirty! Then there’s Nat, who looks so much like Leo, the person Dora related so well to as a teenager . . . There’s going to be plenty of family drama as the four endeavour to live and work together – and that’s with out the vloggers and rustlers!

This is an engaging read, a story where the countryside, sheep and rural life are intrinsic to events and where love, laughter and learning are entwined with potential romances, well kept secrets and surprises. It is a story where the past has been hidden from others but is slowly revealed, where love is given a second chance and teenagers and their parents bring perpetrators to justice! It has a mix of humour and deliberation, fun and turmoil, in a story that keeps you turning the pages in the hopes of a HEA.

Thanks to Boldwood Books and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Purchase Link – http://amzn.to/2Xlnl3a

Author Bio: 

Jane Lovering is the bestselling and award-winning romantic comedy writer who won the RNA Novel of the Year Award in 2012 with Please Don’t Stop the Music. She lives in Yorkshire and has a cat and a bonkers terrier, as well as five children who have now left home.  Her first title for Boldwood was published in September 2020.

Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Jane-Lovering-Author-106404969412833 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/janelovering 

Newsletter Sign Up Link: https://bit.ly/JaneLoveringNewsletter

Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/jane-lovering

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: