splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Opie Jones Talks to Animals by Nat Luurtsema

Title: Opie Jones Talks to Animals

Author: Nat Luurtsema

Illustrator: Fay Austin

Publisher: Egmont

Published: February 4th, 2021

Pages: 288

Target Age Group: 8 – 12 years old

Rating: 4*

My Review:

If you’re looking for a fun, engaging and adventurous children’s book, this could be just what you’re looking for! It is a hilarious story about an ‘ordinary’ ten year old girl who develops the power to read the minds of animals! She’s recruited to join an elite secret group of super heroes – The Resistance but everyone else can read human minds and can’t think when reading animal ones could possibly be useful . . . Needless to say, she’s the one who can save them all – and the rest of the world – in this suspense-filled, fun, fantasy adventure.

This is a great story to encourage children to escape into a story. The text is an appropriate size, the black and white illustrations add to the story and the end of chapter comments for animals are brilliant! It is a story filled with a whole range of fun characters – both human and animal. An engaging read, this is a story I recommend parents and teachers take a look at for anyone they’d like to encourage to read. It is a story to giggle your way through, whether you are a child or an adult. I was very happy to discover it is the start of a new series and suspect anyone who reads this will look forward to future books with eager anticipation – I know I will!

Thank you for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed after laughing my way through it!

Synopsis:

Dr Dolittle meets Kid Normal in a hilarious middle grade superhero series from comedian Nat Luurtsema. Perfect for fans of David Baddiel, Charlie Changes into a ChickenMy Brother is a Superhero and Lightning Girl

10-year-old Opie Jones is Very Ordinary. In fact nothing remarkable has ever happened to her, if you don’t count the cat that gives her funny looks from next door (which she doesn’t). So she is naturally very surprised when she is recruited to join The Resistance – a team of superheroes who can read minds, and have a dastardly brainwashing villain to defeat.

HOWEVER… it turns out Opie can’t read human minds, she can read ANIMAL ones. The other members of the Resistance are very disappointed. And a whole world of animal chat and demands is opening up to her. She’s still a superhero, just one on her hands and knees in the mud, chatting to a pedantic worm.

But when the Resistance find themselves captured, it might just be that listening to all the creatures great and small is what makes Opie Jones the right person to save the world.

Buy Links (via Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: