splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Fascinating, fun #Mystery – The Museum Murder by Katie Gayle

Dastardly deeds, daring deceptions and a dress to die for… Epiphany Bloom is back on the case!

Epiphany ‘Pip’ Bloom, would-be detective and London’s unluckiest woman, finds herself in a real costume drama when she unearths a theft at a fashion museum.

The missing dress is a proper piece of Hollywood history, worth a fortune. And as Pip investigates, she finds the museum staff all had reasons to want the garment gone. From fancy boutiques to sketchy back alleys, Pip discovers the fashion world is not all glitz and glamour as she hunts down her prize.

As if she doesn’t have enough on her plate, Pip also has her growing feelings for her housemate Tim to contend with, a family of cats to feed and her mother keeps phoning about a shipment of llamas arriving any day now from South America.

But there’s no time for distractions because Pip’s not the only one after the dress. And for the most dedicated collectors, a piece like this is worth any price – even murder…

A laugh-out-loud, light-hearted cozy mystery for fans of M.C. Beaton, T.E. Kinsey and Joanne Fluke, that will have you reading late into the night./

My Review:

This is essentially a comedy of errors – everything Epiphany ‘Pip’ Bloom seems fraught and liable to be a disaster but in such a light hearted, fun way you just can’t help smiling (and cringing) at times. Her sister, Flis, has a serious case of mixed vocabulary – if there’s a similar sounding word, she’s most likely to use it making her absolutely hilarious! As for their Mummy’s llama dramas . . .

After a fashion museum visit ends with a job offer, Pip discovers the start exhibit is a fraud – and she’s given the additional role of recovering the iconic dress. Get ready for a story filled with quirky characters, packed with humour, two potential love interests and the perpetrator to be caught! Sometimes a little too over the top, but with a murder, a mystery and plenty of laughter, it is an engaging and enjoyable read and a great addition to the series.

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3chaM1l

Apple: https://apple.co/3qzldlV

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3mTY1MV

Google: https://bit.ly/33QqdsO

Author Information:

Katie Gayle is the writing partnership of best-selling South African writers, Kate Sidley and Gail Schimmel. Kate and Gail have, between them, written over ten books of various genres, but with Katie Gayle, they both make their debut in the cozy mystery genre. Both Gail and Kate live in Johannesburg, with husbands, children, dogs and cats. Unlike their sleuth Epiphany Bloom, neither of them have ever stolen a cat from the vet.

Social Media Links:

https://www.facebook.com/KatieGayleWriter

https://twitter.com/KatieGayleBooks

Follow the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: