splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Brilliant cosy mystery – Mystery at the Abbey Hotel by Clare Chase

Title: Mystery at the Abbey Hotel     

Series: An Eve Mallow Mystery #5

Author: Clare Chase   

Publisher: Bookouture     

Pub Date 12 Apr 2021  

Pages: 272

Rating: 4*

Synopsis:

Eve Mallow’s stay at the luxurious Abbey Hotel takes a turn for the suspicious when the owner is murdered – leaving Eve surrounded by suspects!

Saxford St Peter is Eve Mallow’s beloved home, but she can’t resist the chance to spend a weekend in the nearby Abbey Hotel, famed for its glamorous owner Debra Moran and an array of celebrity guests. For a confirmed people-watcher like Eve, it’s perfect: she can observe the rich and famous while sipping tea in the gardens, her faithful dachshund Gus by her side.

But her relaxing break takes a shocking turn when Debra is found lying dead in the shadowy woods around the hotel. One of Eve’s fellow guests didn’t come to the Abbey for fine food and delightful décor – but to kill.

When the investigation gets underway, Eve finds herself trapped with a wide range of suspects. Could it be Debra’s new friend Harper, who inherits everything? Her ex-husband Chester, still seething over their messy divorce? Or her estranged sister Amelia, who came hoping for reconciliation, only for Debra to shut the door in her face?

As Eve roams the hotel, searching for clues and hunting down alibis, she uncovers a whole host of secrets. But can she find the truth before the killer brings her holiday to a deadly end?

A completely unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Joy Ellis.

My Review:

What a brilliant cosy murder mystery this turned out to be – a real page turner that had me entertained and enthralled throughout.

After winning a weekend in a renowned hotel, with the chance to meet with glamorous and celebrity guests, it is definitely something Eve Mallow eagerly anticipated. However, things never quite go as planned for obituary writer, Eve, and she is right on the scene when a victim of murder is found – much to the chagrin of her arch nemesis, the police officer in charge of the investigation! There are plenty of suspects and it will, once more, need Eve to keep a cool head and piece together the evidence to ensure the true perpetrator is brought to justice, preferably without antagonising the police officer even more – but can she do so before anyone else is killed and keep herself safe, too?

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, meeting the celebrities, discovering what Eve uncovered and learning more about her secret relationship that you’ll need to read about for yourself. Gus, her dachshund, is her sounding board, she discusses everything with him and he’s great at distracting folks whilst she’s endeavouring to question them. The story is filled with twists and turns, great characters and a beautiful seaside setting. There are so many possible killers – and potential victims! It is a delightful story to escape into, one which keeps you guessing until everything suddenly falls into place. It is a great investigation with an added hint of romance. I certainly look forward to reading more about the adventures of Eve and Gus in this series in future!

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

BUY LINKS:

https://geni.us/B08NXTH8LMsocial

Author Information:

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/

2 comments on “Brilliant cosy mystery – Mystery at the Abbey Hotel by Clare Chase

  1. Clare Chase
    April 14, 2021

    Thanks so much for taking part in the blog tour, Elaine, and for this lovely review!

    Like

  2. Bookworms corner blog spot
    April 14, 2021

    This looks good. Great review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: