splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Enthralling 5* #Thriller – The Vatican Secret by Peter Hogenkamp

Title: The Vatican Secret

Series: Marco Venetti #2

Author: Peter Hogenkamp

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: April 15th 

Pages: 380

Rating: 5*

My Review:

Someone needs to make this into a television series!

The hero is Marco Venetti, a priest who needs to act more like an undercover secret agent (James Bond?) at times! He has more international conspiracies to thwart as he endeavours to protect both the Pope and the Vatican whilst also trying to discover who it is that works in the Vatican but is betraying them all. This story takes you on a perilous journey round the Mediterranean, a journey in which you’re never quite certain who is working on the same side as you and who is the traitor.

The vivid descriptions, fast paced action, intrigue and danger make this an enthralling page turner with so many twist and turns it is a rollercoaster ride from start to finish . . . and beyond. If you enjoy thrillers with an unlikely hero, look no further – make sure you grab a copy of this book (and the earlier one, The Vatican Conspiracy). It is a fascinating read and one that I can’t recommend highly enough to anyone who enjoys reading gripping thrillers, that are superbly crafted.

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read, couldn’t put down and have honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

There is a nuclear weapon in the hands of the Vatican City’s deadliest enemy. And time is running out to stop an attack…

Marco Venetti, the only man the pope trusts, has tracked down the traitor who nearly succeeded in his mission to kill the pope. But the traitor holds a crucial piece of information: the name of the Russian mafioso in possession of a nuclear bomb.

Forced to work with a man he despises to prevent a deadly explosion, Marco sets a trap for the Russians. Inside the stone walls of an ancient castle in Portugal, surrounded by high mountains, he waits to ambush his target. But a double-cross ruins everything and he must flee, alone and without backup, leaving a trail of death and destruction behind.

All Marco knows is that the attack is imminent. And that to prevent it, he must enter a deadly game of cat-and-mouse that will take him across the continent, on land and by sea. With time running out, he will stop at nothing to uncover the truth. Because the secrets inside the Vatican may be the deadliest threat of all…

The Vatican Secret is an explosive thriller full of treachery, international conspiracy and non-stop action. Fans of Joel C. Rosenberg, Tom Clancy and Steven Konkoly will be completely gripped.

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08QMZZ5ZWsocial

Apple: http://apple.co/3npYXsP

Kobo:  http://bit.ly/3861dip

Google: https://bit.ly/34gylmz

The first book in this series is The Vatican Conspiracy – click on the title to read about the book and my review of it.

Author Bio:

Peter Hogenkamp was born in upstate New York and attended the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts. (Go Crusaders!) He graduated in 1986 and was exiled to Europe for three years by his premedical adviser, for which he will be grateful the rest of his days. Spending the next three years – supposedly – teaching chemistry and algebra in Salzburg, Austria, he traveled extensively, drank a lot of beer and made many a lifelong friend. In his travels, he found dozens of great places for scenes in a thriller: castles perched on cliffs; monasteries tucked away in alpine valleys; villages built above rocky coastlines; cities soaked in history. When he isn’t writing or hiking with his strong-willed Cairn Terrier, Hermione, Peter practices medicine with his lovely wife, Lisa (who does most of the heavy lifting), hosts Your Health Matters, which airs on cable television, streams on YouTube and sounds off on podcast, and tends to the needs of his four children.

Author Social Media Links:

WEBSITE: peterhogenkampbooks.com

TWITTER:  https://twitter.com/phogenkampVT

FACEBOOK:   https://www.facebook.com/peterhogenkampbooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: