splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Moving #Contemporary #Romance – The Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett

Welcome to the beautiful seaside town of Port Agnes!

My Review:

This is a story that places the reader in the thick of the action, a moving contemporary romance, a gorgeous read about finding yourself and healing.

Ella Mehenick was at the Registry Office to get married when her husband to be arrived late and told her he didn’t want to get married. As if that wasn’t bad enough, it was filmed and shared on the internet . . . . She decides to return to her Cornish home town of Port Agnes, moving back in with her parents and getting a job working as a community midwife in the unit there, covering for someone’s maternity leave. However, returning home means reconnecting with the people she left behind, including her first love, Dan Ferguson. Is this their second chance or has fate other plans in store for her?

This is an engaging story of a close knit community, with great characters to love and loathe. The Cornish Midwives and their patients are brought to life in the story, sharing their worries, their dreams and romance. It is a heartwarming story of new beginnings, relationships, secrets and dreams but most of all about discovering just what – and who – is most important in your life. It is a thoroughly enjoyable read and I really hope it is the first in a series as I’d love to be able to go back to catch up on what has happened to Ella and all the other Midwives in future.

Thanks to Boldwood Books and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

A fresh start…

Midwife Ella Mehenick left the small Cornish town of Port Agnes for London and never looked back. But when her seemingly perfect life crashes down around her, there’s only one place she can heal her battered heart – the place she once called home. 

A new arrival…

Ella is quickly welcomed into the small community midwife team and loves her new job caring for mums and their precious babies – it’s what she does best! But being back also means facing ex-flame Dan Ferguson…the first man to break her heart. 

A second chance at love?

Dan is still as gorgeous as ever, but he’s never forgiven Ella for leaving. And now she’s back it’s clear that there is unfinished business between them. As Ella settles into her new/old life, she can’t stop the memories of how she once loved Dan so completely – and maybe never stopped.

Maybe coming home to Cornwall is Ella’s chance to love again…

Meet The Cornish Midwives of Port Agnes- where community, friendship and love are always delivered.

An uplifting and escapist read, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

This book was previously published as Return to Port Agnes.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3tpFg7V 

Author bio:

Jo Bartlett is the bestselling author of nineteen women’s fiction titles. She fits her writing in between her two day jobs as an educational consultant and university lecturer and lives with her family and three dogs on the Kent coast. Boldwood is publishing the first title in The Cornish Midwife Series – part of a twelve-book deal – in April 2021.

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JoBartlettAuthor/ 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/J_B_Writer 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jo_bartlett123/ 

One comment on “Moving #Contemporary #Romance – The Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett

  1. Pingback: A Winter’s Wish For the Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett – Awesome, heartwarming read. | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: