splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Fascinating, edge of your seat, #Thriller – False Allegiance by Nick Thacker

I am very happy to be joining in the Bookouture Books On Tour for this fabulous thriller. Read on to discover what it is about, my review and more about Nick Thacker, its author!

Title: False Allegiance

Author:  Nick Thacker

Series: Jake Parker Thriller #3

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Date: May 14th  2021 

Pages: 324

Rating:   4*

My Review:

Wow – what an action packed thriller this series continues to be! This time the focus of Jake’s investigation is actually his father and the consequences of this are potentially lethal as attempts are made to stop Jake forever. Who is your allegiance to – your family or your country? As more secrets are uncovered Jake fears this will be a decision he’ll have to make, a decision made harder by the losses he sustains as the story progresses.

This is a gritty, edge of your seat, thriller and a great addition to the series. It is frightening to imagine this could be based on genuine facts, it is all so plausible! As Holland and Jake work together to thwart the bad guys, you’re constantly questioning everyone’s motivations and loyalties. It is a real page turner, a fascinating series of scenarios and brilliant read. This series just keeps on getting better and I have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys enthralling thrillers exploring the relationships between government agencies, secret agencies, the military and terrorists. It is a powerful, insightful look at the rivalries, motivations and machinations involved in this secretive world and superb story.

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Description:

Someone wants Jake Parker dead. He’ll find out why, or die trying…

Ex-army, ex-police, widowed husband, estranged son. Jake Parker has no family, no one to care if one of the government-contract jobs he takes goes wrong. So he’s shocked to get a phone call from his father as he’s pursuing an anomaly from his latest mission. But his dad isn’t calling for a chat, he’s issuing a warning: stop digging around, let this job go.

Jake barely has time to register the news that his father has been keeping tabs on him before a bomb tears apart his apartment, and he barely escapes with his life. Now he’s injured, on the run, and determined to find out who wants to silence him, and why.

The more he digs, the more drastic the attempts on his life become, but Jake won’t be beaten at this game. When he gets hold of one of the thugs trying to take him out, Jake learns that he’s treading on the toes of an illicit arms deal and now he may be the only person who can stop a cargo of weapons getting into the hands of international terrorists. Terrorists with their eyes on the US and who seem to have a hold on his father. Now Jake has to make the ultimate choice: allegiance to his family, or to his country…? He can only save one.

A completely gripping thriller from a USA Today bestselling author. A pulse-pounding read for fans of David Baldacci, Tim Tigner and the Jack Ryan thrillers.

Purchase Links

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08VNR256Ysocial

Apple: http://ow.ly/BWpV50DqexQ

Kobo: http://ow.ly/2xm050Dqevc

Google: http://ow.ly/axrP50EGbQd

Other books in the series:

Containment
The Patriot

Author Bio:

Nick Thacker is the USA Today Bestselling Author of action-adventure thrillers and mysteries, including the Harvey Bennett Thrillers series. Often mentioned as a cross between Clive Cussler and James Rollins, his stories are written in a fast-paced, punchy style.

He lives on a volcano in Hawaii with his wife, two kids, and two dogs.

Author Social Media Links:

TWITTER:  https://twitter.com/NickThacker

FACEBOOK:  https://www.facebook.com/AuthorNickThacker/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: