splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Such an emotive #Romance – Her Tuscan Summer by Vanessa Carnevale

Book Description:

I take my spot behind Luca and soon we’re racing down winding country roads through the breathtaking Italian countryside, with postcard-perfect sunflowers that carpet faraway fields. I have no other place to be, and no other person I’d rather be with.

Mia Moretti has always dreamed of becoming an artist. But after a fierce battle with a devastating illness that she is terrified will return, Mia is heartbroken to find herself unable to paint like she used to.

So when an opportunity to spend the summer in Italy presents itself, Mia jumps at the chance for a fresh start. She hopes that by travelling to the sun-drenched streets of Florence, surrounded by Tuscany’s rich green vineyards and sweeping hills, she will finally be able to heal.

What Mia doesn’t count on is meeting handsome local mechanic, Luca Bonnici. With his smouldering chestnut eyes, charming smile and irresistible joie de vivre, Mia can’t resist the invitation to jump on the back of his motorbike to the see the country she is already falling in love with. And as she slowly lets down her walls and opens her heart to Luca, Mia starts to fall in love with life again too.

But just when she is ready to let go of her past, tragedy strikes. Will Mia’s strength and her love for Luca be enough to save them, or will they lose each other forever?

Lose yourself in the blue skies and sun-kissed streets of Florence with this gorgeous, heart-wrenching story about love and second chances. Perfect for fans of That Month in Tuscany, T.A. Williams and Lucy Coleman.

My Review:

This is much more than a contemporary romance, it is a poignant, emotive story of learning to live and love again after experiencing life-threatening illness or injury.

Australian Mia Moretti is in remission – again – but fears the return of cancer, again. She’s always dreamed of becoming an artist but her ability to paint is also affected by her fears. She travels to Italy in the hope of being inspired to paint again and make a fresh start. On her first day in her new home she meets Luca Bonnici, a handsome, charismatic local and the two quickly become close, exploring the glorious Tuscan region together. However, when fate intervenes, will Mia have the strength to fight for their love or will this just be a summer romance?

Talk about a roller-coaster read!! This is a story that will remain in my memory long after finishing it. It takes you through the whole gamut of emotions and leaves you reeling as it unfolds. There are a thorough mix of heartbreaking and heartwarming events, fantastic, believable and relatable characters, journeys through the idyllic Tuscan landscape and beautiful art in this evocative read. If you’re looking for an unforgettable, moving read, look no further, grab yourself a copy of this book and get the tissues ready, just in case!

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3bRE464

Apple: https://apple.co/3rjTHrF

Kobo: https://bit.ly/39f1bpT

Google: https://bit.ly/3coexCe

Author Bio:

Vanessa Carnevale is an Australian author of women’s fiction. She is also the host of Your Beautiful Writing Life retreats held in Tuscany and Australia.

Vanessa loves to travel, and spent several years living in Florence, Italy, a place she considers her second home. She lives in Australia with her husband and two children.

Her previous novels, THE MEMORIES OF US and THE FLORENTINE BRIDGE are published by HarperCollins and have been translated into German and Slovenian. Vanessa’s third novel will be published by Bookouture in August 2020.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: