splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb #PsychologicalThriller – The Forever Home by Sue Watson

Title:  The Forever Home

Author: Sue Watson

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: June 1st, 2021

Pages: 339

Rating: 4* 

My Review:

This is another superb, psychological thriller by this talented author.

The twenty-fifth wedding anniversary of Carly and Mark is being celebrated with lots of guests in the house they’ve become television stars in as they restored, re-designed and renovated it. It is their home where they’ve raised their two children but now their family is falling apart, crashing down as Mark is made to reveal his latest affair with someone who had been his daughter’s best friend. . . . .

As Carly’s world breaks into pieces, she’s determined to keep the home her mother gave her as a wedding present. However, it is a home filled with secrets, somewhere she should be safe but someone is determined is out to make sure all her hopes and dreams are scuppered forever. As the publicity which originally helped make Mark a household name and them both an iconic couple now turns on them and threats arrive, is there any way Carly can keep her home and stay safe?

This is an intriguing read with a fantastic final twist I really didn’t see coming. It is told from Carly’s perspective and has characters to empathise with and a couple of others you’ll definitely not like! You’re never quite certain who to believe, who is being honest and who has never truly been there for Carly. It is a fast paced, enthralling read with great characters, suspense, surprises and filled with family drama. If you enjoy psychological thrillers, this is one you really don’t want to miss!

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

You thought you’d always be safe there… you were wrong.

Carly had thought they’d always live there. The beautiful Cornish cliffside house they’d taken on as a wreck, that Mark had obsessively re-designed and renovated – a project that had made him famous. It was where they’d raised their children, where they’d sat cosily on the sofa watching storms raging over the sea below. It was where they’d promised to keep each other’s secrets…

Until now. Because Mark has fallen in love. With someone he definitely shouldn’t have. Someone who isn’t Carly. And suddenly their family home doesn’t feel like so much of a safe haven.

Carly thinks forever should mean forever though: it’s her home and she’ll stay there. Even the dark family secrets it contains feel like they belong to her. But someone disagrees. And, as threats start to arrive at her front door, it becomes clear, someone will stop at nothing. Because someone wants to demolish every last thing that makes Carly feel safe. Forever.

An utterly unputdownable psychological thriller about what lies are hidden in the most beautiful homes. Perfect for fans of Date NightGone Girl and The Woman in the Window.

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/2Sx7grW

Apple: https://apple.co/2Ogai2b

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3v7BtNk

Google: https://bit.ly/3qyYfdl

Author Bio:

Sue Watson was a journalist on national magazines and newspapers before becoming a TV producer with the BBC. 

Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue explores the darker side of life, writing psychological thrillers with big twists.

Originally from Manchester, she now lives with her family in leafy Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – and procrastinating. Her hobby is eating cake while watching diet and exercise programmes from the sofa, a skill she’s perfected after many years of practice.

Social Media Links:

http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

https://www.facebook.com/sue.watson.39501

https://twitter.com/suewatsonwriter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: