splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Fascinating 1934 #Murder #Mystery -Murder at Elm House by Helena Dixon

Title: Murder at Elm House

Series: A Miss Underhay Mystery #6

Author:  Helena Dixon

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Date 7 June 2021

Pages: 234

Rating:   4*  

My Review

Travel back to 1934 in this brilliant cosy murder mystery with Miss Kitty Underhay and her beau, ex-army captain and now private detective Matthew Bryant, endeavour to stay safe whilst striving to solve the mystery of residents suspiciously dying in the Elm House Nursing Home…..

Kitty lives and works in the Dolphin Hotel in Dartmouth which is owned and run by her Grandmother. When Kitty and Matt go to visit her Gran’s friend, Mrs Craven, they never expected to find themselves in another murder mystery! Mrs Craven is suspicious about the deaths of fellow residents, worried about the strange noises she hears at night and wants Matt to secretly investigate . . . and so the mystery begins!

As in the previous books, Kitty finds herself in deadly danger repeatedly as the story progresses. There are plenty of clues, suspicious characters and red herrings to keep you guessing. Have the residents been murdered? If so, by whom, how and why? Just who is visiting the Home at night? With burglaries, a bag snatcher and more threats, can Matt help keep Kitty safe whilst they continue to investigate the strange occurences?

This is a great addition to the series, with plenty of twists to keep you guessing in this relaxing but intriguing read. I am thoroughly enjoying reading this series but suspect you could still enjoy this story even if you’ve missed the earlier books. I look forward to reading more of Kitty and Matt’s investigations in future!

Thank you to Bokouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

Kitty Underhay feels the touch… of death.

1934. Accidental amateur sleuth Kitty Underhay is being escorted by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant on an errand of mercy, as she takes a basket of grapes to her nemesis Mrs Craven, who is recuperating from a recent operation. But their arrival at Elm House Nursing Home coincides with the mysterious death of Lady Wellings, a long-term resident.

The woman was known to be ill, so when the police turn a disinterested ear to Mrs Craven’s suspicion that Lady Wellings was poisoned, Kitty decides to look into the case herself. And when another invalid, the gentle Mrs Pearson, collapses fatally in the breakfast room, it seems her suspicions are well-founded. For an institution promising health and rejuvenation, there seems to be a very low survival rate amongst the guests!

When the nurse Eloise Hibbert hints at sinister goings on among the staff, Kitty arranges to meet her away from the home to uncover how deep the treachery lies. However, before she can make the rendezvous, Eloise meets an unfortunate end falling from the top of the building. Was she pushed by the hand of fate, or a cold-blooded killer?

Meanwhile, Matt has been following an entirely different trail of evidence, and what he finds out chills him to the bone. When Kitty fails to return from her unsuccessful meeting, it is clear she has stumbled onto a plot far more devious than they could have imagined, and into a trap laid by an unscrupulous killer…

An utterly sensational and addictive Golden Age murder mystery. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Purchase Links from Goodreads:

One comment on “Fascinating 1934 #Murder #Mystery -Murder at Elm House by Helena Dixon

  1. Carla
    June 7, 2021

    I am reading this one right now and enjoying it. Wonderful review Elaine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: