splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Amazing #5* heartwarming read – The Beach House by Jenny Hale

Title: The Beach House

Author:  Jenny Hale

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Date June 9th, 2021

Pages: 300

Rating:   5* 

My Review:

This is a incredible read, a contemporary romance skilfully intertwined with ones from the past and I can’t praise it highly enough.

Melanie Simpson gave up her job to look after her beloved Grandmother (Gram) for three years. As a child they used to visit Rosemary Bay, where her Gram grew up and always dreamed about restoring a special house there and running it as a Bed and Breakfast establishment. When her Gram dies, her will instructs Melanie to use her inheritance to buy and restore that property and make their dreams reality – and Melanie sets out to do just that. The dilapidated property needs a lot of work to make it habitable and Melanie is recommended to use the local carpenter, Josh Claiborne, to do the work – but he’s planning on leaving and doesn’t want to work on her home. However, a bet, an incoming storm, a parcel of letters and the uncovering of family secrets will all play key roles in this family drama and several romances!

This story has all the elements of mystery, suspense, romance and drama, enthralling shared in a beautiful read that I have no hesitation in highly recommending to anyone looking for a moving story to escape into. The letters give an insight into past relationships, there are plenty of secrets and surprises in store and love shows the way for them all – including a very special young boy. It is a heartwarming, emotive story, skilfully written to keep you turning the pages, hoping everything will work out for them all – I loved it!

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this amazing book which I have voluntarily read, thoroughly enjoyed and honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

“Oh, my goodness,” she whispered. At the bottom of the box was a stack of letters. Tied with a ribbon, the pages were faded with age. “These are all addressed from here,” she said, “but they’ve never been sent.”

When her gram passes away, Melanie Simpson feels utterly lost. She has no idea what to do with her life after she has devoted years to looking after her beloved grandmother.

But Gram’s will may hold the answer, instructing Melanie to use her inheritance to buy a crumbling house in Rosemary Bay. They used to visit the village every summer, sit by the sparkling gulf on a beach the color of a fresh pearl, and daydream about turning the place on the corner into a bed and breakfast.

Fulfilling her grandmother’s legacy, Melanie decides to restore the beach house to its original glory. She sets out on renovations of the wrap-around porch weathered by the coastal breeze, and the peeling white paint faded by the sun.

When Melanie runs into local carpenter, Josh Claiborne, whose eyes match the dazzling sea, she jumps at the chance to ask him for help. But that’s the last thing he wants. He’s off to New York soon, leaving his troubled past behind. Over a game of darts Melanie gets her wish, even if Josh isn’t happy about it.

As they work together, Melanie tries to ignore their undeniable chemistry and how Josh’s rare smiles take her breath away––because soon they’ll be thousands of miles apart. But hiding in a closet is a yellowing stack of letters that could change everything. The looping handwriting reveals the mystery of the rickety house––a buried history that touches everyone in Rosemary Bay. Will its secrets bring Melanie and Josh together or tear them apart?

An absolutely gorgeous and heartwarming read about never-ending love, new beginnings, and how family is always with you, no matter where you are. Fans of Pamela Kelley, Mary Alice Monroe and Susan Mallery will adore this romantic page-turner.

Buy Links from Goodreads:

One comment on “Amazing #5* heartwarming read – The Beach House by Jenny Hale

  1. Carla
    June 10, 2021

    Lovely review Elaine. I can’t wait to read this one. I haven’t read a Jenny Hale book in awhile, but it sounds like she is getting even better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 9, 2021 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: