splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Another fab 1920’s #Murder #Mystery – Murder at the Fair by Verity Bright

Title:  Murder at the Fair

Series: A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery #6

Author: Verity Bright

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: June 15th, 2021

Pages: 324

Rating:  5* 

My Review:

This is another great murder mystery set in 1921 with Lady Eleanor Swift and her butler, Clifford, as the investigating pair, aided by Gladstone – the bulldog. It is a story in which her relationship with Detective Seldon is put under even more strain as he tells her to stay out of the investigation into the untimely death of the local undertaker, Solemn John. There are plenty of potential suspects, some red herrings, together with spiteful obituaries appearing in the local paper – including one for herself!

I really enjoy the authors’ style of writing, which takes you straight back to the era and into the thick of things. Lady Eleanor is a feisty, independent young lady – well, she’s trying to act like a lady most of the time! Mind you, Clifford certainly seems to be somewhat psychic as he usually has just what Lady Eleanor needs, even before she knows she needs it, and his sense of humour really adds to the story. The community, its characters and activities are brought to life in the story, making you feel part of it all. There are snippets bringing key events from the era – such as the introduction of new devices like a vacuum cleaner and their impact on regular events like the annual spring cleaning.

There are dilemmas to be faced, blackmailers to be thwarted and someone’s good name to be made in this engaging page turner, which is a great addition to the series and a fun mystery, too, with a murderer to be identified before there are more victims….

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

Summer flowers, warm sunshine, a maypole dance and… is that another murder? A tricky case is afoot for Lady Swift!

Summer, 1921Lady Eleanor Swift, the best amateur sleuth in the country, is delighted to be in charge of the prize-giving at her village summer fair. But the traditional homemade raft race takes a tragic turn when the local undertaker, Solemn Jon, turns up dead amongst the ducks. Jon was the life of any party and loved by the entire village. Surely this was simply an awful accident?

But when a spiteful obituary is printed in the local paper, Eleanor realises there may be more to Jon’s death than first thought. Despite handsome Detective Seldon giving her strict instructions not to interfere, Eleanor owes it to Jon’s good name to root out the truth. So with her partner in crime, Gladstone the bulldog, Eleanor starts digging for clues…

When another local dies in a riding accident, the police refuse to believe he was murdered. But a second vindictive death notice convinces Eleanor of foul play. Solemn Jon’s assistant, a bullish banker and a majestic marquess make her suspect list, but it isn’t until she finds a dusty old photograph that she knows the true culprit behind both crimes. Then another obituary appears – her own! Can Eleanor nail the killer before she too turns up dead among the ducks?

An utterly compelling and charming cozy mystery! Pure delight for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Buy Link: Amazon: https://amzn.to/3prBNUJ

Author Bio:

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

https://twitter.com/BrightVerity

11 comments on “Another fab 1920’s #Murder #Mystery – Murder at the Fair by Verity Bright

  1. Verity Bright
    June 15, 2021

    Thanks so much for this lovely review, Elaine. So glad you enjoyed it. It was great fun to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Splashes Into Books
      June 16, 2021

      You’re very welcome! I’ve already signed up for the next in series tour and am really looking forward to reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carla
    June 16, 2021

    This sounds like a fun series, Elaine. I’m not sure if I am ready for a new series, but you are surely tempting me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Verity Bright
      June 16, 2021

      Hi Carla – if you do decide to read any of the Lady Swift books, I’d love to know what you think 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • Carla
        June 16, 2021

        Do they need to be read in order, Verity?

        Like

      • Verity Bright
        June 16, 2021

        You can read them in any order. They reference some bits in other books but not anything important so they are stand alone.

        Liked by 2 people

    • Splashes Into Books
      June 16, 2021

      Go for it, Carla! We tend to enjoy the same books and this is such a great read I suspect you’ll not regret doing so and I’ll be interested in reading your review to see if we agree again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carla
        June 16, 2021

        Well, can I start here, or do I need to start at the beginning?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Splashes Into Books
        June 16, 2021

        I’d say you can start here but suspect you’ll like it so much you’ll want to read some of the earlier books, too. The authors skilfully blend in information about some of the relevant past events as the story progresses.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Verity Bright
        June 16, 2021

        Hi Carla – you can start with any of the books as they are all stand alone. If you start from the beginning with A Very English Murder, (which is on promo at the moment), you’ll get a little more from the series. Either way, do let me know which you read and what you think of it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Carla
        June 16, 2021

        Okay, thanks for the info, off to Amazon I go.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: