splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Delightful #Contemporary #Romance -Secrets of Magpie Cove by Kennedy Kerr

Title:  Secrets of Magpie Cove  

Author: Kennedy Kerr  

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: June 16th, 2021

Pages: 224

Rating: 4*

My Review:

This is a delightful, contemporary romance set in a small, close-knit, seaside community.

Serafina was the hub of the community and her death left many of her friends and neighbours uncertain about their future. Lila Bridges moved to Magpie Cove after tragedy and now works part-time in Serafina’s Café whilst also studying to become a pastry chef. Serafina’s untimely demise has Lila and the regular customers uncertain about her future, especially when Serafina’s estranged son, Nathan DaCosta, inherits and brings in new money making ideas, so at odds with his Mum’s community spirit. Although Lila struggles to work with her new boss’s rules she is also attracted to him but as more changes to life in the community are imposed at his behest will sharing the secrets they are both keeping bring them together or tear them apart?

There are lots of lovely characters in this pleasurable read, ranging from Lila’s partner in class to other business owners and the elderly couple who have flaunted traditional expectations for most of their lives. I thoroughly enjoyed visiting this gorgeous setting which is filled with a wonderful sense of community working to help each other. There are plenty of laugh out loud scenarios, a few heartbreaking revelations and lots of love, too, making this a marvellous read to escape into.

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I voluntarily read, thoroughly enjoyed, have honestly reviewed and highly recommend!

Book Description:

Lila had a favourite rock to sit on towards the back of the cove, where she often ate her breakfast, gazing out at the tumbling Cornish sea. As the sun rose that morning, Lila wished with all her heart that the grey-green waves could wash away her old life. That Magpie Cove would help her move on, and to forget…

When aspiring pastry chef Lila Bridges flees her life in the city after a heartbreaking tragedy, she finds herself working behind the counter at Magpie Cove’s most beloved local establishment – Serafina’s Café. The sweet, buttery aroma of freshly baked chocolate croissants, the cheerful gossip of the regulars and the elderly owner Serafina’s feisty humour are a much-needed balm to Lila’s broken heart. For the first time since it happened, Lila is beginning to laugh again…

But when Serafina unexpectedly passes away, the future of the café looks bleak. Nathan Da Costa, Serafina’s estranged son, inherits, and returns to Magpie Cove determined to inject some big-city glamour into the place. To Lila, it seems impossible that dour, money-obsessed Nathan could be related to dear Serafina. He may have his mother’s mop of curly dark hair and deep brown eyes, but he has none of her warmth or heart.

Lila needs this job and the sense of peace the town has brought her, so she’s determined to make it work with Nathan as her new boss. But her resolution is tested when the secret Lila has been keeping about what brought her to the cove begins to unravel, just as she discovers an unexpected, sweeter side to Nathan. Will trusting Nathan Da Costa with her long-held secret be Lila’s new beginning in Magpie Cove, or her emotional undoing?

Be totally transported to the windswept beaches of Cornwall with this heart-warming and unputdownable story that will leave a huge smile on your face. Perfect for fans of Shari Low, Veronica Henry and Heidi Swain.

Buy Links:  

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08XY1W61Psocial

Apple: http://ow.ly/vlFF50DPVb7

Kobo:  http://ow.ly/o0c750DPV6m

Google:  http://ow.ly/zAXb50DQTeB

Author Bio:

Kennedy Kerr is a British fiction author. She adores beaches, lochs and stone circles, and loves writing about small communities, mysteries and family secrets. She has a very cuddly cat called Twinkle who spends her days sleeping: Kennedy aspires to having Twinkle’s nap schedule one day.

Kennedy also loves cooking and baking all types of food, which is almost as much fun as eating it. Her favourite foods include (but are not limited to) Indian food, Victoria sponge, breakfast pastries with coffee and sushi. The only thing she’s not particularly keen on is artichoke, and she’d eat it, anyway

Author Social Media Links

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/kennedykerrauthor/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/KennedyKerr5

2 comments on “Delightful #Contemporary #Romance -Secrets of Magpie Cove by Kennedy Kerr

  1. Carla
    June 18, 2021

    This sounds like a great summer read Elaine. Great review that has piqued my interest.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: