splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Happy Book Birthday to TA Williams for his fantastic 5* read – Secrets on the Italian Island

Happy Book Birthday to Trevor Williams for his latest fantastic 5* read, Secrets on the Italian Island. Read on to discover more about the book, including my review of it, and about its author . . .

Her work has got in the way of relationships before – but never like this

Anna’s job as a geologist takes her all over the world, including to the beautiful island of Elba, where she’s sent to look for precious metals. And the island isn’t the only thing that’s gorgeous – she can’t believe her luck when she meets windsurfer Marco and sparks fly.

But Anna must keep her role on Elba a secret to avoid upsetting the locals, which means lying to Marco even as they grow closer. When her old friend Toby visits, Anna suddenly finds herself torn between the attentions of the two men. However, Anna’s not the only one keeping secrets.

Is Marco being entirely honest with her? And why did Toby really come to visit?

A fun and escapist romance, perfect for fans of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.

My Review:

Once more this highly talented author has written a fabulous story that whisked me away, escaping our current travel restricted reality in the best possible way. This story has so many key ingredients which make it a total delight to read, including a beautiful setting, delicious food, fantastic characters and plenty of surprises.

Anna is a geologist but is rethinking her lifestyle as her world wide travel in search of precious metals means she has little opportunity for relationships. She recently reconnected with an old friend, Toby, but has no time to see if their relationship could develop further as she’s sent abroad again.

Her latest jaunt is to the beautiful island of Elba where she is ordered to keep her search secret from the locals who may protest the prospect of mining in the area. Her stay there includes meeting and being attracted to the local heartthrob, the windsurfing Marco, as well as the delightful Jack and his black Labrador, George. I have to say Anna’s relationship with Jack and George is one of the highlights of this lovely story and one which leads to some brilliant surprises! When Toby comes to visit, Anna is torn between the two suitors, but secrets and surprises as well as tragedy will all have their parts to play before this story concludes.

This is a delightful, fun read that I really can’t praise highly enough. With his mouth watering descriptions of delicious foods, breath taking scenery and great characters, the author places the reader in the heart of the action, providing lots of laughter and heartwarming romance in an enthralling story filled with surprises.

Thank you to Canelo and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Purchase Link – mybook.to/SecretsIsland

Author Bio 

I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations, even if travel to them is currently difficult.

Social Media Links – 

Website: www.tawilliamsbooks.com

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tawilliamsbooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: