splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Fascinating #Murder #Mystery – The Corfe Castle Murders by Rachel McLean – #BookReview #BlogTour

Meet DCI Lesley Clarke. She’s a straight-talking city copper who doesn’t suffer fools gladly… and she’s been transferred to rural Dorset.

After being injured in a bomb attack, Lesley is presented with a choice – early retirement, or a period of respite in a calmer location.

But things don’t stay calm for long.

Before she’s even started her new job, Lesley is dragged into investigating a murder at one of England’s most iconic landmarks, the imposing Corfe Castle.

Lesley must hit the ground running. Can she get along with her new partner DS Dennis Frampton, a traditionalist who doesn’t appreciate her style? How will she navigate the politics of a smaller force where she’s a bigger, and less welcome, fish? And most importantly, can she solve the murder before the killer strikes again?

The Corfe Castle Murders is a compelling, character-driven mystery perfect for fans of Ruth Rendell, Colin Dexter, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis.

My Review:

This is a great start to a new series, with diverse characters and clues
And a dangerous killer with so much to lose.
It is a fascinating character-driven mystery and great read
If you enjoy crime thrillers this is just what you need! 

This is the first in a new series of Dorset crime books
That are definitely great reads and worth more than a look.
DCI Lesley Clarke is moving to start a new job there
For six months she’ll stay for a quiet time and to take care

After a bomb left her injured, she needs to recover
But on the day before she starts, a murdered body she’ll discover
With a new team she needs to get to know
This will be a stressful time from the word go.

With new relationships to develop and colleagues to meet
This totally won’t be the quiet meet and greet!
With archaeologists and secrets, adultery, murder and lies,
Every revelation is often another surprise

My thanks to publisher and author who
Gave me a copy of this book with no obligation to review.

Purchase Links 

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0989Y2J2R

US – https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0989Y2J2R 

Author Bio – 

My name’s Rachel McLean and I write thrillers that make you think.

What does that mean?

In short, I want my stories to make your pulse race and your brain tick.

Do you often get through a thriller at breakneck pace but are left with little sense of what the book was really about? Do you sometimes read literary fiction but just wish something would damn well happen?

My books aim to fill that gap.

If you’d like to know more about my books and receive extra bonus content, please join my book club. I’ll send you a weekly (sometimes fortnightly) email with news about my writing research and progress, stories and bonus content for each book. And I’ll let you know when my books are on offer.

Social Media Links – 

https://www.facebook.com/rachelmcleanwrites

https://twitter.com/rachelmcwrites

https://www.instagram.com/rachelmcwrites/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: