splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Fun #CosyMystery and great read – Death at the Gates by Katie Gayle @Bookouture

Today I’m pleased to join in the #BooksOnTour for this fantastic book!

Hurlingham House school is a high-achiever’s heaven, full of happy, hard-working pupils. There’s just the small matter of the dead body on the field… Sounds like a case for Epiphany Bloom!

When Epiphany Bloom’s best friend’s sister Claire is accused of trading exam papers for money, Epiphany agrees to see Ms Peters, the headteacher of Claire’s fiercely competitive school, to provide moral support. Claire has always been a model student and is loudly protesting her innocence: surely it’s all just a misunderstanding.

But when Ms Peters hears about Epiphany’s previous sleuthing exploits, she enlists her help to track down the true culprit!

Taking a job as a PE teacher, Epiphany soon realises she has plenty of suspects for the exam scam mastermind. The broke young teacher with a shady past? The father willing to buy his daughter anything – including grades? The school governor desperate to keep Hurlingham House at the top of the ranks?

Then Epiphany finds one of them dead at the school fair, and it becomes clear someone is taking the cut-throat culture of the school too literally – and when mysterious accidents start happening around her too, it seems the killer knows she’s onto them.

Can Epiphany solve the murder as well as clearing Claire’s name, before she becomes the next victim? This is one test she can’t afford to fail…

A charming and totally addictive cozy mystery with a hilarious and warm-hearted heroine. A must-read for fans of M.C. Beaton, Lee Strauss and Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series.

My Review:

This is the third book in this fun series 
Featuring Epiphany Bloom in mysteries.
She’s better known as Pip and when she’s on the case
Anything can happen to anyone or in any place!

This time she’s coerced into helping her friend Tim
Prove his sister, Claire, didn’t cheat in tests - she’s not that dim!
The school’s one for girls where high results are a must
And the Head believes Pip can uncover who she can no longer trust.

Becoming a PE teacher isn’t what Pip had planned yet
Undercover like this is probably her best bet.
The plot has plenty of twists and turns
As how to be a teacher Pip starts to learn.

It has fantastic characters, including Pip’s sister Flis
Whose malapropisms you really don’t want to miss!
When the body of a suspect is found by Pip and a runaway llama
You just know this story will continue with plenty of fun and drama!

With murder, plots and secret plans, too
This is a series I highly recommend to you
For my copy I thank Bookouture and NetGalley, too.
I hope you enjoy this, my honest review.

Buy Link: Amazon: https://bit.ly/3BK4h1u

Author Bio

Katie Gayle is the writing partnership of best-selling South African writers, Kate Sidley and Gail Schimmel. Kate and Gail have, between them, written over ten books of various genres, but with Katie Gayle, they both make their debut in the cozy mystery genre. Both Gail and Kate live in Johannesburg, with husbands, children, dogs and cats. Unlike their sleuth Epiphany Bloom, neither of them have ever stolen a cat from the vet.

https://www.facebook.com/KatieGayleWriter

https://twitter.com/KatieGayleBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: