splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Intriguing #CosyMurderMystery – Mystery at the Church by Clare Chase – @bookouture

Title: Mystery at the Church

Series: Eve Mallow Mystery #6

Author: Clare Chase

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: August 4th 2021

Pages: 265

Rating: 4*

My Review:

For my copy of this book thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley too
I chose to read it and this is my honest review. 

This is the sixth Eve Mallow Mystery book
If you enjoy cosy mysteries, please take a look!
It is a thoroughly enjoyable read
With intrigue and murders where Eve takes the lead.

When a new TV drama in their village is being made
Eve and the villagers have roles as extras to be played.
Even her dog, Gus, has a special part, too
But a murder changes everything that they can do.

Eve enjoys joining in with the dramatic scenes
That way she is able to watch everyone and see what she gleans.
With poisonous flowers and a threatening note, too
Who’d guess this with murder would be followed through?

Move over Miss Marple - Eve Mallow is here!
She won’t give up until who did it is clear.
She also has help from her secret lover
Who is an ex detective in hiding and undercover.

The victim upset lots of folks all the time
So there are suspects galore for committing the crime.
With help from the villagers, her friends and her lover
Let’s hope Eve Mallow the perpetrator can discover!

So if cosy mysteries are what you desire
With clues galore to keep you guessing and stuck in the mire
I highly recommend you add this book to your reads
And hope it will entertain and meet all your needs!

Synopsis:

When a TV drama crew descends on sleepy Saxford St Peter, Eve Mallow joins the excited throng of extras in a funeral scene. But then a real body is found… and Eve gets a starring role as sleuth!

Eve Mallow is looking forward to her fifteen minutes of fame when Saxford St Peter is chosen as the location for a new drama series. A devoted people-watcher, Eve is thrilled to learn that TV stars are just as glamorous – and tempestuous – as she’s always imagined.

But then someone delivers a bouquet of poisonous flowers to the director Rufus Beaumont, making Eve worry that some of the rivalries she’s noticed are deadly serious. And when Rufus’s body is found in the church where the funeral scene took place, it’s clear that someone’s out for the kill in real life.

Eve and dachshund Gus have been on the ground from the start, and now they’re on the case, interrogating the suspects one by one. Is it the devastating diva whose relationship with Rufus was far from professional? The cameraman who caught Rufus doing something he shouldn’t? Or the groupie groundskeeper who’s in the background of every shot? One thing’s for sure – Eve must catch the killer before she stars in their next murderous production…

A completely unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

Buy Link: 

https://geni.us/B08ZYNQ1PQsocial

Author Bio

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Website: www.clarechase.com 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/clarechaseauthor/

2 comments on “Intriguing #CosyMurderMystery – Mystery at the Church by Clare Chase – @bookouture

  1. Clare Chase
    August 4, 2021

    I love this! Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Splashes Into Books
      August 4, 2021

      You’re very welcome- I’m really enjoying this series and looking forward to reading more of Eve’s sleuthing in future x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: