splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb #PsychologicalThriller – The Family Across The Street by Nicole Trope

Sometimes, the most perfect families are hiding the most terrible secrets. How well do you know the people next door…?

Everybody wants to live on Hogarth Street, the pretty, tree-lined avenue with its white houses. The new family, The Wests, are a perfect fit. Katherine and Josh seem so in love and their gorgeous five-year-old twins race screeching around their beautiful emerald-green lawn.

But soon people start to notice: why don’t they join backyard barbecues? Why do they brush away offers to babysit? Why, when you knock at the door, do they shut you out, rather than inviting you in?

Every family has secrets, and on the hottest day of the year, the truth is about to come out. As a tragedy unfolds behind closed doors, the dawn chorus is split by the wail of sirens. And one by one the families who tried so hard to welcome the Wests begin to realise: Hogarth Street will never be the same again.

A completely gripping, twist-packed psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell.

My Review:

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley, too
For this fantastic read, here’s my honest review.

Talk about a gripping tale, one that keeps you reading
Told from different points of view you wonder where its leading
Wow -this is a mother’s total nightmare
But there are neighbours who care
And one old lady who’s brave
Can she this family save?

On Hogarth Street something feels stranger
But just why and who could be in danger?
A delivery is made for Katherine West who
Tells Logan to leave it, what should he do?
He feels that something bad is going on
But can’t leave the parcel and is soon gone.

There’s a neighbour who is worried, too,
She’s Gladys and she’s not sure what to do.
She’s kind and caring, likes looking after others
But a busybody is what she’s called by some of the mothers.
Does the family living across the street
Really need her help in this dreadful heat?

Two men whose childhood upbringing was tough,
One determined to prove that he’s good enough.
The other’s been brainwashed by his Dad
And all his thoughts seem to be so sad.
This story is about families and neighbours who
Learn to look after each other in all they see and do.

It is a psychological thriller
A brilliant read, an edge of your seat chiller.
Shots, danger and children to defend,
It has a shocking twist towards the end.
I highly recommend this to anyone who
Enjoys this genre, like I do, too!

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3yaGZzT

Apple: https://apple.co/3eCi0y1

Kobo: https://bit.ly/33vMD1B

Google: https://bit.ly/3eyY3YX

Author Bio:

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because, as her professor pointed out, ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’

She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree. In between raising three children, working for her husband and renovating houses, she has published six novels. She lives in Sydney, Australia.

https://www.facebook.com/NicoleTrope/

https://www.instagram.com/nicoletropeauthor/

https://twitter.com/nicoletrope

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: