splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Brill, cosy murder mystery – A Death at Candlewick Castle by Emma Jameson – great read!

Librarian Jemima Jago is enjoying a peaceful summer in the Isles of Scilly – until a puzzling crime comes in with the tide…

Between her work in Cornwall’s oldest library and catching up with old friends over tea and chocolate biscuits, Jemima Jago is spending the season the only way she knows how: sunbathing, swimming and sailing. But her postcard-perfect summer is turned upside down when the body of well-to-do businessman Hermie Castleberry is found on the sweeping white sands at the foot of Candlewick Castle.

Jem doesn’t mean to get involved, but when her old flame Rhys Tremayne is arrested for murder, she springs into action to prove his innocence. With her gift for uncovering hard-to-find information, Jem discovers Hermie had been keeping secrets and ruffling a few feathers in the ordinarily tranquil islands. Did the quiet wife, the belittled business partner or the slimy salesman want Hermie out of the way?

The discovery of a pair of silver gloves by little dog Buck could be just the clue Jem needs to crack the case. But can she catch the real culprit, and keep her heart in check, before the killer sends her down to Davy Jones’ locker too?

A totally charming cozy mystery from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Emma Jameson. Fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin and Agatha Christie will adore A Death at Candlewick Castle.

My Review:

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley, too
For my copy of this book, here’s my honest review:

If cosy murder mysteries are what you crave
With a feisty heroine who doesn’t always behave
Check out this book and try to solve the mystery
Before anyone else is killed and history!

Set in the Isles of Scilly where Jem’s returned
She can’t resist solving puzzles and mysteries I’ve learned.
She’s actually a librarian who is cataloguing a collection
Discovering letters and diaries in this unique selection.

However, when she’s out having fun with friends
She makes a discovery that fun ends
Below the castle walls another body they find
She hopes Hack really won’t mind!

As the police investigation starts at a pace
Jem and friends are sure they’re in the wrong place.
When a childhood friend is arrested and sent to jail
They need to clear his name quickly, without fail!

This is another delightful, intriguing read
One I thoroughly enjoyed, so please pay heed
If you enjoy small communities and brill mysteries, too
This could be a book that’s ideal for you!

Title; A Death at Candlewick Castle 

Series: Jemima Jago #2

Author: Emma Jameson

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: August 20th 2021

Pages: 192

Rating: 5*

Buy Link: https://geni.us/B093888ZWZsocial

Author Bio  

Emma Jameson writes mysteries that readers call witty, romantic, and full of surprises. An aspiring novelist since age seven, she took a long, twisty route to the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. After years of working at a major medical center, her first novel, cobbled together on nights and weekends, became a runaway e-book bestseller. Now she writes full-time and has sold over half a million books. A compulsive reader and information hoarder, Emma is always searching for that fascinating nugget or startling fact that will spark another novel. A lifelong Anglophile, she resides in the United States, where she enjoys swimming, yoga, and serving the needs of not one, not two, not three, but four cats.

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/emmajamesonbooks

Twitter: https://twitter.com/msemmajameson

Website: http://emmajamesonbooks.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emmajamesonbooks/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: