splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Uncovering family history and solving a mystery – The Vanishing Child by Jennifer Harvey

Title: The Vanishing Child

Author: Jennifer Harvey

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: August 26th 2021

My Review:

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley, too,
For my copy of this book - here’s my honest review:

This story starts with dramatic events from the past
And how Carla endeavours to resolve them at last.
It is a family drama, and investigation, too

A boy walks home from school but never gets there
He vanished and was gone, but no one knows where.
Almost forty years later some clues may help to tell
Who did what, when and how, only time will tell.

When Suzie calls Carla to let her know
Her estranged father is dying and wants to see her so
She travels to her father’s home and there she finds
Diaries, photos and mementos that bring fears to mind.

Carla is befriended by CeCe, whose son disappeared
Vanished so long ago - its almost forty years.
Reading the diaries, the family drama starts to unfold 
About the secrets that still remain untold.

Suspicions mount and the tensions grow
What the truth is, Carla wants to know.
Can they discover what happened in the past?
Can CeCe and her son be reunited at last?

This is a story involving family history
As the family try to solve the mystery.
It is a suspense filled, yes, indeed
A gripping story and emotional read

About the Book: 

It’s funny how one innocent decision can ruin your life. For me it was letting my son pedal away on his bike that hot summer day. He’d been so excited to go out by himself—like a big boy. And though I was usually so protective, I let him…

When Carla returns to her father’s house to care for him in his final days, she feels lost and heartbroken. So she’s glad when she meets a kindly older woman named CeCe, and they develop a warm, natural friendship. CeCe understands loss too. Because nearly forty years before her only son disappeared without trace, from this same small town.

Then, sorting through her father’s house, Carla discovers a box of diaries and newspaper clippings from the year CeCe’s son went missing. Her father was barely more than a child himself at the time, but it’s clear the disappearance affected him strongly.

The whole town is haunted by the memory of that summer: of the boy who was never found. But as Carla delves further into her father’s past she realises he may actually have known more than he has ever said—and that perhaps the answers CeCe so desperately seeks have been hidden here in this house all along.

With her father now too ill to tell his story himself, will Carla be able to discover the truth about what happened to the child who vanished—and give CeCe the answers she’s been seeking for forty years?

A heart-wrenching and emotionally charged novel about small-town secrets and the price of facing up to the truth. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Nicole Trope and The Silent Daughter will be gripped from the very first page until the final, heart-stopping twist.

Buy Links: 

Amazon: https://geni.us/B097HJF5PMcover

Apple: http://ow.ly/hA4v50FfEzF 

Kobo: http://ow.ly/RMlq50FfEsM 

Google: http://ow.ly/uqwH50FfEBe 

Author Bio

Jennifer Harvey is a Scottish writer now living in Amsterdam.

Her short fiction has appeared in various publications in the US, Canada, and the UK and she has been shortlisted for the Bristol Prize, the Bridport Prize and placed third in the University of Sunderland Short Story Award. Her novels have been longlisted for the Bath Novel Award and her radio dramas have also won prizes and commendations from the BBC World Service.

Alongside writing, she is a Resident Reader for Carve Magazine, an editor for Carve Critiques, and serves as a member of the Editorial Board for Ellipsis Magazine. When not writing, she can be found sauntering along the Amsterdam canals, dreaming up new stories.

Social Media

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JenAnneHarvey1

Website: https://www.jenharvey.net/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: