splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

A Magical start to brill new #Fantasy series – The Spellworker by Victoria Lamb

Book One in a rich and suspenseful YA fantasy adventure series, from the author of the award-winning WITCHSTRUCK. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo.

Princess Fiamma is the girl with the serpent tattoos, born to guard the Book of Tongues, a magical text nobody living knows how to read.

Raised in royal privilege, it’s a shock when the Citadel comes under attack and Fiamma is forced to flee in disguise with the Book of Tongues. Her only companion is Hurth, a handsome but surly soldier who doesn’t bother to hide his contempt for a ‘spoilt princess’.

A time when reading is forbidden, and books are dangerous

Fiamma may be spoilt but she knows her duty. She must not allow the Book to fall into the evil hands of the Spellworker, whose powerful magic can kill with a single word.

A perilous journey through occupied territories

Together, she and Hurth must search for a mysterious place where the Book has always been taken in times of danger. But worse than Hurth’s disdain and the hardships of the journey are her own deepest fears about the Book, which has started whispering to her in the night, teaching her how to read it …

Is the Book turning her into a Spellworker too?

As she faces her destiny, and learns the true meaning of the serpent tattoos she bears, Fiamma has to decide how far she’ll go to protect the Book’s secrets.

A compelling tale of Good versus Evil in a world where what you see is definitely not what you get.

My Review

A magical relic, The Book of Tongues,
Is what Princess Fiamma must guard her life long.
When her home comes under attack, she needs to flee
Taking the book with her to safety.

Hurth, a young soldier goes with her, too,
Ordered to help her and the book get through
To the isles named in a legendary song
Getting them safely there is what they both long.

An evil spellworker supports their foes
What's his intention no one else knows.
However, the book seems to have plans of its own
That it whispers to Fiamma making them known.

With mountains to climb and new friends to find
And others to thwart who are not so kind,
Can they reach the Weralph Isles 
A journey fraught with danger over many miles?

The magical book is one that no one can read
But the whispering magic has its own need.
Now Fiamma is worried and hopes it isn't true
That she's becoming a spellworker, too.

What dangers will they face on their journey so long?
Are they right to be guided by a song?
To find out what happens you really need
This magical story for yourself to read!

Thank you for my copy of this book
At which I hope you'll now take a look!
I really enjoyed it and now can't wait
To read the sequel - please don't let it be late!

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Spellworker-gripping-epic-fantasy-Tongues-ebook/dp/B08JB84QWW

US – https://www.amazon.com/Spellworker-gripping-epic-fantasy-Tongues-ebook/dp/B08JB84QWW

Author Bio –

Historical and YA paranormal author of the RNA award-winning novel WITCHSTRUCK, Victoria Lamb is addicted to the supernatural, and on dark nights has been known to sneak out and howl at the moon. She also writes thrillers as Jane Holland, and other fiction as Betty Walker, Elizabeth Moss and Beth Good, among others. Victoria’s most recent novel is THE SPELLWORKER, first in a fab new YA epic fantasy series called THE BOOK OF TONGUES.

Social Media Links –

Twitter: https://twitter.com/VictoriaLamb1

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/Victoria-Lamb-Author-101018681763204

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: