splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Bring Her Home (Boyle and Keneally #1) by S.A. Dunphy

She had taken only one step towards the hotel when she heard the car door opening, and then something had her by the shoulders in a grip like steel. Penny tried to fight, but it was no good. The last thing she heard as consciousness drifted away was the whisper of a familiar song…

On a cold night in October a pretty, blonde girl named Penny O’Dwyer is snatched from the quiet main street of a small, coastal town in the west of Ireland. No one saw anything, and a desperate search leads nowhere… Until her abductor sends a video declaring Penny only has ten days to live and a deadly countdown begins.

Criminal behaviourist Jessie Boyle hoped never to work a case in Ireland again. But when her career in London is cut short by a brutal tragedy, she returns to her homeland to grieve – only for her oldest friend to call in a long overdue debt. ‘Help us catch this monster and bring Penny home. We need you, Jessie.’

Throwing herself into the investigation, Jessie makes a chilling discovery: Penny wasn’t the first girl to be taken. As her team find more missing women, she becomes convinced that a serial killer has been hiding in plain sight for years. Nothing seems to tie the victims together, until Jessie realises that that each abduction site is linked to the old Irish myths she read as a child.

Time is running out for Penny, and Jessie’s only hope is to understand the killer’s twisted logic. But he is closer than she imagined… and Jessie is next in his sights. Will she risk everything to save an innocent life?

A totally breathtaking and chilling crime thriller that will keep you gripped to the very last page, perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, A.J. Rivers, Tana French and Lisa Gardner.

My Review:

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley, too,
For my copy of this book, here's my honest review:

This story starts when a man's murdered body is found
And Jessie Boyle is one of the first around
But the man was her love and she has to leave
To give herself time to heal and grieve.

She returns to Ireland, she's been left for twenty years
Hoping being there will help her overcome her tears.
She's a criminal behaviourist and hasn't been there a day
When the police commissioner calls in a debt to repay.

A young woman, Penny, has been kidnapped and a challenge set
For them to find her before Samhain or she'll die is the threat.
With Detective Seamus Keneally and Terri Kehoe too
This team will endeavour to follow every clue.

They find old Irish myths play a serious part 
In what is happening from the very start.
With a serial killer hiding in plain sight
Can they catch him whilst Penny is still alright?

An enthralling page turner I have to say
That kept me reading all the day.
This is a book I highly recommend to you
If crime thrillers are what you enjoy, too!

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3gvipmv

Apple: https://apple.co/3jeLhRD

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2Wky0hr

Google: https://bit.ly/3zfmMtG

Author Bio:

Shane Dunphy (S. A. Dunphy) was born in Brighton in 1973, but grew up in Ireland, where he has lived and worked for most of his life. A child protection worker for fifteen years, he is the bestselling author of seventeen books, including the number one Irish bestseller Wednesday’s Child and the Sunday Times Bestseller The Girl Who Couldn’t Smile. His bestselling series of crime novels (written under the name S. A. Dunphy) feature the criminologist David Dunnigan. Stories From the Margins, his new series of true crime books written for Audible, has been critically acclaimed and the second title in the series, The Bad Place, is an Audible True Crime bestseller. 

https://shanedunphyauthor.org/
https://www.facebook.com/shanewritesbooks
https://www.instagram.com/shanewritesbooks/
https://twitter.com/dunphyshane1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: