splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Fantastic 1920s Cosy #MurderMystery – A Lesson in Murder (A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery Book 7) by Verity Bright

When Lady Swift is invited to her old school, she walks through familiar classrooms, finds her favourite books in the library… and surely that’s not a body? Time for a lesson in murder!

Autumn, 1921Lady Eleanor Swift is invited to her old school, St Mary’s, as a guest speaker. Her favourite teacher, Mrs Wadsworth, has asked that Eleanor talk about her intrepid travels around the globe – travelling the Silk Road by bicycle, crossing the Himalayas and even befriending the Maharaja of India. But in the circumstances, perhaps it would have been a good idea to talk about her career as a daring detective…

Because no sooner has Eleanor brushed up on her times tables then she is greeted by terrible news: Mrs Wadsworth has been murdered. Eleanor is utterly devastated but she owes it to her dearest teacher to find out who killed her and why. So, alongside Gladstone the bulldog, it’s best paw forward to track down a villain.

But when the art teacher is also found dead, Eleanor is sure someone is trying to do away with the people who taught her everything. As Eleanor delves into possible motives, she discovers a clue in the most unlikely place: her mother’s old school diary. Does the route to the murderer lie within a secret passageway her mother uncovered? Can Eleanor nail the culprit in time or is the killer coming for her next?

A totally gripping and glamorous 1920s cozy! Fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Rhys Bowen are in for a treat.

My Review:

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley, too,
For my copy of this book, here's my honest review:

Having thoroughly enjoyed several books in this series before
I really couldn't wait to escape into some more!
The stories are set back in the 1920s and star
Lady Eleanor Swift who is more used to travelling afar!

She has inherited a title she hadn't expected
And learning to be a lady she initially rejected
But now, with the help of her butler and Gladstone
She's learning to live a new life that isn't so alone.

However, murders and mysteries keep coming her way
And she's unable to avoid involvement, despite what others say.
This time she's gone to present prizes at her old school
Something she's now regretting, another dead body isn't cool.

When memories come flooding back of her time spent there
Mrs Wadsworth is the teacher she remembers really taking care.
So when this lady's body is discovered on the ground,
Eleanor is determined that if there's a killer they'll be found!

With schoolgirls, teachers and memories, too,
Eleanor is determined her best to support Hugh.
With her working undercover in the school
Will she be able to resist breaking any rule?

Get ready for another fascinating mystery and burgeoning romance, too
In this fascinating story with great characters who
Always keep you guessing and hoping for the best
I hope you read it for yourself and discover all the rest!

Author Bio:

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

https://twitter.com/BrightVerity

Buy Link: Amazon: https://bit.ly/3kRsM5q

Here are the covers of all six books published so far in this series:

One comment on “Fantastic 1920s Cosy #MurderMystery – A Lesson in Murder (A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery Book 7) by Verity Bright

  1. Verity Bright
    September 16, 2021

    Thanks so much for the fun (and witty!) review, Eleanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: