splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Really enjoying this 1930s series – Murder at the Wedding by Helena Dixon – Fascinating Murder Mysteries!

Title: Murder at the Wedding  

Series: Miss Underhay Mysteries #7

Author: Helena Dixon 

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: Oct 6th 2021

Rating:

Buy Link: https://geni.us/B096KXJZZScover

My Review:

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley, too,
For my copy of this book, here's my honest review:

Travel back to 1934
To a wedding, mystery, murder and more!
Another story for Kitty and Matt to investigate,
Can they identify the killer before it is too late?

When Kitty's cousin, Lucy, was getting married
Kitty travelled to Yorkshire, she never tarried.
There she meets Lucy and Rupert's families and friends
And with them all some time spends.

When a valet is murdered, shot dead,
It is thought the target was someone else instead.
Kitty and Matt are both at the scene
So friends ask them to investigate but the police aren't so keen!

Kitty thinks the perpetrator is someone staying there
But the police won't listen to her or seem to care.
Or so it seems, until another victim is killed
Then the police response isn't quite so chilled.

I really like the characters in this fascinating book
You really get to know them as you take a look.
There's a wedding ceremony that passes so well
But there's also secrets that no one is prepared to tell.

With red herrings and true clues to keep you guessing
And Alice to help - she's a real blessing!
This is a great addition to this brilliant series
To encourage you to read on and develop new theories.

There's also the possible romance for Kitty and Matt
Will their past experiences put an end to that
Or will they finally give their potential romance
Something more significant than just a chance?

About the Book: 

’Till death do us part may come sooner than they thought…

1934. Kitty Underhay steps out of the battered Rolls Royce and onto the gravelled driveway of Thurscomb Castle in deepest Yorkshire. She’s honoured to be a bridesmaid at her cousin Lucy’s wedding to the reluctant Lord Rupert Woodcomb, but as family and friends gather for welcome drinks, Kitty dodges intrusive questions about her own marital status by taking a stroll about the castle grounds. As she passes through the manicured gardens, a fatal shot rings out…

The valet, Evans, is dead. And Kitty can’t help but notice how rattled the man standing next to him seems. Could Rupert’s best man, The Right Honourable Alexander ‘Sandy’ Galsworthy, believe the speeding bullet was meant for him?

When she discovers that Sandy has been receiving blackmail notes, Kitty suspects that one of the assembled guests has plans to make good on their threats. The local constabulary won’t act on Kitty’s hunch, so, busy with her bridesmaid’s duties, she asks her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, to help.

The ceremony passes without a hitch. But when an anxious Sandy slips away during the dancing, Matt follows, only to make a hideous discovery: Sandy is dead, flattened on the terrace by some falling masonry.

Now the duo are sure that there is a murderer within the castle walls. But can they untangle Sandy’s final hours and catch this killer before they strike again, or will the wedding bells be replaced by a death knell for Kitty herself…?

A completely charming and unputdownable cozy historical Golden Age murder mystery! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

Author Bio

Helena Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. Helena was the RNA winner of the Romance Prize in 2007 and Love Story of the Year 2010.

Social Media

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/NellDixon

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/helenadixonuk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: