splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb #CrimeThriller – First Girl to Die by Helen Phifer – such a brilliant read!

Title: First Girl to Die 

Series: Detective Morgan Brookes #4

Author: Helen Phifer 

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: Oct 11th 2021 

Buy Links: 

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0971BTGVGsocial

Apple: https://apple.co/3waIYTI

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3zhrgQv

Google: https://bit.ly/2TitVZB

My Review

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley, too,
For my copy of this book, here's my honest review:

This is a brilliant Crime Thriller
Complete with a serial killer
In Cumbria, England, the story is set
And this could be the best one yet!

Detective Morgan Brookes is called to the school
Where a member of staff is acting weird and not cool.
It turns out she's Morgan's old school friend
But she's too late to prevent her tragic end.

She is the first girl to die
To prevent any others Morgan will try
But strange happenings put all at risk
Unless the case solving is very brisk.

There are clues and red herrings, too
To tantalise and confuse both me and you.
There's definitely a link to a tragic death in the past
But who is involved and will this be the last?

This is an intriguing case to keep you guessing
With old friends involved and time is pressing
There's links to Morgan's aunt, who makes herbal teas
But she's harmless and caring - Morgan hopes all will agree!

What happened at the party, that night long ago?
To find out the truth seems imperative although
As folks connected to Morgan are so involved too
Removing her from the team is what they'll do.

I thoroughly enjoyed these fascinating cases
Exploring relationships and all the different places.
If you enjoy getting involved in solving cases of crime 
I highly recommend you give reading this book some of your time!

About the Book: 

Morgan shudders as she leans out of the window and takes in the familiar blonde curls and clear blue eyes of the fallen girl below. She knows this woman, and she realises with sickening certainty that her friend is now gone forever…

When Detective Morgan Brookes is called to the scene of a suicide, she’s devastated to recognise the young teacher sprawled out on the grass like a broken doll. She hasn’t seen Brittany for years. Not since the tragic death of Morgan’s high-school boyfriend ripped their friendship group apart. But when witnesses describe Brittany’s erratic behaviour and jumbled speech that morning, Morgan is convinced the fearless, life-loving girl she once knew didn’t jump of her own accord.

Traces of poison found in Brittany’s blood prove Morgan’s theory right, but no one can find the source. Then Morgan uncovers a distinctive jar in Brittany’s home filled with toxic herbs, and the sight of it turns her blood to ice. She has a jar just like it, a handmade gift from her aunt. Is this a coincidence, a set-up, or could the only person she’s ever trusted with her damaged past be capable of murder?

Then another woman from Morgan’s past is found, close to the scene of that fatal teenage party. Has Morgan been looking at this all wrong? Are these deaths connected to that deadly night? And how could someone from her own family possibly be involved?

With her aunt’s freedom and more innocent lives at stake, Morgan must dig deep into her painful memories for answers. Who else was there that night, and what exactly did they see? She must stop this twisted killer before any more of her old friends become new victims – but at what cost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan and Rachel Abbott.

Author Bio:

Helen Phifer’s love of reading began with Enid Blyton, before progressing on to Laura Ingals Wilder and scaring herself with Steven King. If she can’t write for any particular reason she finds herself getting itchy fingers and really irritable. She loves reading as much as writing and is also very fond of chocolate, Prosecco, The Lake District, New York, white Zinfandel wine, her children and grandchildren, her friends, porn star martini cocktails, Stephen King, watching scary films, Marilyn Monroe, Melissa McCarthy, Idris Elba, Simon Baker, Spandau Ballet, The Munsters and coffee. In no particular order.

Social Media

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/Helenphifer1/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/helenphifer1

Website: https://www.helenphifer.com/

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/helenphifer/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: