splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

A #CrimeThriller, a genuine chiller, with a serial killer – Frozen Souls by Rita Herron

Title: Frozen Souls

Series: Detective Ellie Reeves #4

Author: Rita Herron

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: Oct 28th 2021

Buy Links: 

Amazon: https://geni.us/B096MYTCMRsocial

Apple: http://ow.ly/keMf50F4C8F

Kobo: http://ow.ly/5ldh50F4C66 

Google: http://ow.ly/D4CM50F5i6A

My Review

I'll issue a warning before my review
That if fatal physical abuse of women is a trigger for you
This book is not one you need
Or that you'll want to read.

In the snowy mountains hides a killer
Who stores his victims in an ice chiller
He keeps them there for years
In town there are growing fears
As the killings start to escalate
Can Ellie find him before it is too late?

Detective Ellie Reeves is working too
Bring this killer to justice but just who
Is the perpetrator and just how
Can she reveal their identity now?
And can she bring in this deadly stranger
Without putting herself into danger?

This is a very dark, crime thriller
An enthralling, gripping search for the killer.
With a community living now in fear
Can Ellie and her team somehow get near
To save the latest victims of this man
They'll definitely try, that's their plan.

I choose to read and take a look
At my complementary copy of this book
After reading it I wrote to share with you
This, my honest review.


About the Book: 

She looked like an angel. She lay perfectly still, silky blonde hair falling to her pale shoulders. Icicles clung to her eyelashes as snowflakes fluttered to the frozen ground, burying her body.

As a snowstorm wreaks havoc in the mountain town of Crooked Creek, a woman is found buried in ice. Detective Ellie Reeves is first on the scene. Examining the body, she finds frozen blonde hair, pink nail polish and a silver heart necklace engraved with Mine Forever.

Ellie has first-hand experience of the monsters that lurk in the mountains––her childhood is testament to that. She vows to catch this one, but she’s up against the brutal weather, with snow covering footprints and making forensics impossible.

Frantically trawling through missing-person’s reports, Ellie identifies the victim. Nadine Houser disappeared eleven years ago. Where has she been all this time? Why was she only murdered now?

As storm clouds roll in, another girl is reported missing. Ellie retraces the steps of Ginger Weston who was renting a cabin in the mountains. She discovers a gold chain in the snow, spotted with blood. The killer is accelerating, and it’s just a matter of time before more innocent lives are robbed.

With the town blaming Ellie for the missing girl on her watch, and everyone fearing for their safety of their daughters, it’s down to Ellie to solve the toughest case of her career. But when the killer comes after her, will she live to save Crooked Creek from its ruthless monster?

A totally gripping read that will get your pulse pounding as you flip through the pages! Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot who love a roller-coaster, twist-packed page-turner!

Author Bio

USA Today Bestselling and award-winning author Rita Herron fell in love with books at the ripe age of eight when she read her first Trixie Belden mystery. But she didn’t think real people grew up to be writers, so she became a teacher instead. Now she writes so she doesn’t have to get a real job.

With over ninety books to her credit, she’s penned romantic suspense, romantic comedy, and YA novels, but she especially likes writing dark romantic suspense and crime fiction set in small southern towns.

For more on Rita and her titles, visit her at www.ritaherron.com. You can also find her on Facebook/ritaherron.com and Twitter @ritaherron.

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorritaherron/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ritaherron

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ritaherronauthor/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: