splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb 1950’s CosyMystery – Murder on the Pier (A Flora Steele Mystery #2) by Merryn Allingham – #BooksOnTour

My Review:

If post-war cosy mysteries are what you crave
Read this one, I'm sure it'll make you rave!
Set in a Sussex village in 1955 you'll meet
Lots of folks you'd like to actually greet.

Flora Steele and Jack Carrington are friends who
Seem to accidentally get involved in a mystery or two.
In this one a trip to visit Brighton and the pier
Is where they discover Polly Dakers, she's dead, I fear.

Is it a suicide, an accident or murder? They have to know!
So again it is off investigating that they go.
There are secrets, surprises and so much more
That they'd discover as they start to explore.

With a plethora of clues and danger around both of them
Will they survive investigating yet again?
WOW! I thoroughly enjoy reading about the village and times
As well as these two endeavouring to solve the crimes.

It is a series I hope to return to in future to read more
About Abbeymead, the folks and times I adore.
I admit I'm keeping my fingers crossed that there's a chance
This sleuthing couple will develop into a romance!

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

Book Description:

Meet Flora Steele – bookshop owner, bicycle-rider, daydreamer and amateur detective!

Sussex, 1955: When bookshop owner Flora Steele goes for a walk along the pier she isn’t expecting to spot a young woman’s body in the stormy waters below. And she’s shocked to discover the victim is someone she knows…

Convinced the death was not an accident, Flora persuades attractive local crime writer Jack Carrington to help her find out what really happened to poor Polly Dakers, a popular young woman with a complicated love life, who’d been at the heart of village life in Abbeymead.

Jack is reluctant to get involved in another murder case at first but even he can’t deny that Polly’s fall seems fishy. An argument at a party, a missed hairdresser’s appointment and a red woollen bobble found on the wooden boards where Polly last stood provide a trail of clues…

As they grow closer to solving the puzzling mystery, the unlikely pair stumble upon several surprising secrets about those closest to Polly. A number of potential suspects begin to emerge. But who really disliked Polly enough to kill her? Was it Raymond, her jilted first love? Harry, her latest beau? Or Evelyn, Harry’s jealous estranged wife?

As the investigation brings them closer to the truth, Flora is intent on unmasking the killer – but will her stealthy sleuthing lead her down a dangerous path?

An utterly delightful cozy crime novel set in the fictional Sussex village of Abbeymead. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis!

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3wd3wfj
Audio Links:UK: https://zpr.io/3fvbHexd2JFw
US: https://zpr.io/bYhQQW9XQ5Ln
Listen to a sampe here:
https://soundcloud.com/bookouture/murde

Author Bio:

Merryn taught university literature for many years, and it took a while to pluck up the courage to begin writing herself. Bringing the past to life is a passion and her historical fiction includes Regency romances, wartime sagas and timeslip novels, all of which have a mystery at their heart. As the books have grown darker, it was only a matter of time before she plunged into crime with a cosy crime series set in rural Sussex against the fascinating backdrop of the 1950s.

Merryn lives in a beautiful old town in Sussex with her husband and one last cat, Bluebell. When she’s not writing, she tries to keep fit with adult ballet classes and plenty of walking.

https://www.facebook.com/MerrynWrites

https://twitter.com/merrynwrites

Buy Link:
Amazon: https://bit.ly/3wd3wfj
Audio Links:UK: https://zpr.io/3fvbHexd2JFw
US: https://zpr.io/bYhQQW9XQ5Ln
Listen to a sampe here:
https://soundcloud.com/bookouture/murder-on-the-pier-by-merryn-allingham-narrated-by-charlie-norfolk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: