splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

WOW!! What a brilliant #5* read! – The Hostage by John Ryder #BooksOnTour @bookouture

Title: The Hostage

Author: John Ryder 

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: Nov 25th 2021

My Review:

WOW - waking up with guns in your face
Is the start of this read that keeps up that pace.
An action packed read I didn't want to put down
Any interruptions were met with a frown!

Jerome and Alicia are "ordinary" folk
Until this time when with guns they're woke.
Alicia is taken, Jerome told to wait,
Follow instructions, go to work, don't be late.

Can he rescue and protect her - and if so, how?
Following their instructions seems the way for now.
However, he'll not let them get away at all
He'll make them regret they ever decided on them to call.

This is a total, action-packed thriller,
Definitely another fantastic chiller,
Where Jerome is determined to protect his wife
And to her kidnappers bring plenty of strife.

What a brilliant, fascinating read this proved to be
At least as pulse pounding as it is claimed you'll see
With secrets, betrayal, determination, surprises and more
A superb story you'll agree, I'm sure!

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

About the Book: 

“You get us what we want. Or your wife dies. And we will make it hurt.”

Jerome Prentice is a good guy. Loyal to a fault, he always stays on the right side of the law.

But everything changes the night he is awoken by the sound of masked kidnappers entering his home. Holding him at gunpoint, they drag his beloved wife Alicia out of the house with a promise to kill her if he goes to the police. Their demand: betray the company he’s worked for his entire adult life.

They think he’ll do anything to save his wife. But they don’t know that they’re messing with the wrong man. Because Jerome might be a good guy. But betrayal doesn’t come easily to him. And he’s not a man who will go down without a fight.

What’s more, he will hunt the people who’ve taken Alicia to the ends of the earth. And if they’ve hurt even one hair on her head, he’s going to make them pay…

This utterly page-turning, jaw-dropping thriller is perfect for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Mark Dawson.

https://geni.us/B09DPZCZ2Nsocial

Audible:

UK: zpr.io/C9Y7JxMtkpH3
US: zpr.io/G2nPDjSvkMRA

Author Bio

John Ryder is a former farmworker and joiner. He’s turned his hand to many skills to put food on the table and clothes on his back. A life-long bibliophile, he eventually summoned the courage to try writing himself, and his Grant Fletcher novels have drawn inspiration from authors such as Lee Child, Tom Cain, Zoe Sharp and Matt Hilton. When it comes to future novels, he says he has more ideas than time to write them.

When not writing, John enjoys spending time with his son, reading and socialising with friends. A fanatic supporter of his local football team, he can often be found shouting encouragement to men much younger and fitter than he is.

Social Media 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JohnRyderAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JohnRyder101

Website: https://johnryderauthor.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: