splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Another brilliant 1920s cosy mystery – Death on a Winter’s Day by Verity Bright #BooksOnTour

Title: Death on a Winter’s Day

Series: A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery #8

Author: Verity Bright

Publisher: Bookouture

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3qOZpoS
Audio Links:UK: zpr.io/fTeJ8rAQjLGR
US: zpr.io/8R94J4qaVH6U
Listen to a sample here:
https://soundcloud.com/bookouture/death-on-a-winters-day-by-verity-bright-narrated-by-karen-cass

My Review:

If historical cosy murder mystery is what you read,
I'm sure this is one that's just what you need!
When Lady Eleanor Swift's plans nearly get changed
Her staff travelling with her to help is then arranged.
They'll spend the festive season in a Scottish castle
Where the present servants are causing hassle!

With the Baron and Baroness Ashley is where they'll stay
Working together to save their Christmas Day.
The party there should really be fun
But with arguments and ill feelings what will be done?
Playing a game to help them all get along
What could spoil things by going wrong?

A guest is stabbed when the lights went out.
Ellie needs to find out by whom, there is no doubt
With her butler there to help her in her quest
Whilst trying to protect her, he'll do his best.
Together this intrepid duo the killer will seek
Despite the conditions there turning bleak.

This is a fabulous series in which this is book eight
With a heroine whose new role was caused by fate.
She's an independent and feisty lady who
Doesn't always do as others expect her to!
It is great to catch up on her and others I've got to know
I highly recommend you give them a go!

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

Book Description:

Christmas at the castle with holly, handmade gifts, snowflakes and… is that a body under the tree? Someone call Lady Swift!

Winter, 1921Lady Eleanor Swift, amateur sleuth and reluctant lady of the manor, has been invited to spend Christmas in Scotland, at the beautiful castle of her dear friends Baron and Baroness Ashley. Even her favourite companion, master of mischief Gladstone the bulldog, is coming along to share a slice of turkey. As snow begins to fall outside, the rather mismatched group are cozy by the roaring fire, sharing a tipple over a plate of Mrs Trotman’s famous mince pies.

But after what was supposed to be a fun party game, Mr Eugene Randall is found dead at the feast. A somewhat unpopular business associate of the Baron’s from across the pond, it seems Mr Randall has certainly upset somebody. Was it what he said about Scottish whisky?

The killer must be in the castle… and when the Baron is arrested, Baroness Ashley begs Eleanor to investigate. Determined not to let her friend down, Eleanor sets about questioning the remaining partygoers.

All too swiftly, someone else is found dead, having apparently fallen from a high balcony. As if one murder wasn’t enough to put a twist in the tinsel! Eleanor knows she’s skating on thin ice now. And when she discovers a hidden document that points the finger of suspicion at the unlikeliest of suspects, she realises there’s more to the story. Can Eleanor catch the killer before it’s time for Christmas dinner?

The perfect cozy mystery to curl up with this winter! Fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss are in for a festive treat.

Author Bio:

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

https://twitter.com/BrightVerity

2 comments on “Another brilliant 1920s cosy mystery – Death on a Winter’s Day by Verity Bright #BooksOnTour

  1. Verity Bright
    November 29, 2021

    Hi Elaine – I always look forward to your reviews – thanks so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Splashes Into Books
      December 3, 2021

      Thank you – I always look forward to reading and reviewing your brilliant books 😊. Looking forward to reading more from you in future!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: