splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb, edge of your seat, #CrimeThriller – The Birthday Party by Wendy Dranfield #BooksOnTour

Title: The Birthday Party 

Author: Wendy Dranfield 

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: Jan 7th 2022 

Pages: 376

Rating: 5*

Buy Link: https://geni.us/B09KJKY6LLsocial

My Review:

If you enjoy crime thrillers, this is one of the best,
With a child's disappearance triggering family unrest.
A story filled with secrets, family drama and history
As the police endeavour to uncover this mystery.

The Hamilton's are all about keeping up their appearances
Maintaining status whenever they've the chance
But they're a dysfunctional family, with secrets by the score,
Although young Charlie is a child most adore.

A birthday party for her nephews is where the drama starts
Kathy drops off Charlie to join in, then quickly departs.
Returning home much later, the family are shocked to discover,
Charlie has disappeared and they start suspecting each other.

What an enthralling page turner this story turned out to be
One filled with angst, turmoil and mystery.
It is only as secrets and lies are uncovered
That there's a chance for the truth to be discovered.

A great read that kept me on the edge of my seat
By an author whose style is impossible to beat
I thoroughly enjoyed this riveting read
And highly suggest it is something that you also need!

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed perusing it and this is my honest review.

About the Book: 

Charlotte waves at her mother across the crowded lawn. Little red boots on, cowboy hat crooked over her blonde pigtails, she’s been looking forward to this party for weeks. Moments later, she disappears without a trace…

Kathy Hamilton drives away from her sister-in-law’s pristine-white suburban house in Maple Falls certain she’s left her daughter in safe hands. On the hottest day of the year, a birthday is the perfect excuse to gather friends, family and neighbors around the pool for a barbecue. But when she returns hours later to find her little girl has vanished, her world shatters.

Nobody laughing and drinking in the garden that day saw anything unusual.

Kathy’s eldest daughter is anxious and hardly eating. Is she sick with worry for her sister, or hiding a terrible secret?

The phone rings and rings, but why can’t Kathy get hold of the babysitter?

And is she imagining it, or when her husband rushed from work to join the search, was he wearing a different shirt to the one she saw him leave the house in that morning?

As the temperature rises, and long-buried secrets begin to surface, it’s clear that even the most perfect families keep devastating secrets. But in a town as small as this, is there anyone you can trust?

A totally gripping and utterly addictive page-turner that will have you racing through and reeling at the twists. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Gone Girl and Teresa Driscoll, it will keep you up reading all night long!

Author Bio

Wendy is a former coroner’s assistant turned crime writer who lives in the UK with her husband and 3 cats.

Her first novel (The Girl Who Died) was longlisted for the Mslexia Novel Competition. Since then she has written two crime series – one follows Officer Dean Matheson on his quest to make detective, and the other is her current series which follows Detective Madison Harper as she tries to reclaim her life after spending six years in prison for a murder she didn’t commit.

As well as crime novels Wendy also has short stories published in various anthologies in the UK and the US, and she has been shortlisted and longlisted for various writing competitions.

Wendy’s social media:

Website: https://wendydranfield.co.uk/
Twitter: @WendyDranfield | https://twitter.com/WendyDranfield
Facebook: Wendy Dranfield Author | https://www.facebook.com/WendyDranfield1
Instagram: Wendy Dranfield Author | https://www.instagram.com/wendy_dranfield/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: