splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb cosy mystery with fantastic characters – Mystery at Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase

Title: Mystery at Magpie Lodge

Series: An Eve Mallow Mystery #7

Author: Clare Chase

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: January 6th 2022

Buy Link: https://geni.us/B09BDDMH3Xsocial

My Review:

This is another great Eve Mallow mystery
Where the obituary writer uncovers the history
And helps to discover just who and why
Someone in the community was forced to die.

Eve, with her dachshund, Gus, and Robin, her secret lover,
Are working together again with the hope to discover
Just why someone was killed and by whom
Before anyone else meets their doom!

Emory Fulton has returned to live in Magpie Lodge
Even though its an abode most would prefer to dodge.
He was famous and rich but has spent all he earned
But just why has he returned, no one has yet learned.

There are secrets from the present and the past
Can Eve discover which are relevant to this murder at last?
She has solved murder mysteries several times before
Can she do it again before the killer strikes once more?

I love the sense of community and friendship in this tale
The intrigue of the gossiping villagers all help without fail.
With tasty treats in the cafe, and twists you do not see,
All contribute to make this is a delightful village cosy mystery.

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

About the Book: 

After the black sheep of the Fulton family is found dead, the village of Saxford St Peter is quick to blame it on his past misdeeds. But Eve Mallow is on the hunt for someone closer to home…

When the down-on-his-luck Emory Fulton moves into crumbling Magpie Lodge, and starts running historical tours, the locals are none too pleased. He’s inventing grisly tales about their lovely little village, and disturbing everyone’s peace.

But then he’s found dead in his bath, and everyone is suddenly running scared. Could something strange be happening? After all, the murder mirrors one of Fulton’s stories about Saxford’s dark past…

But Eve Mallow is sure the answers lie in much more recent events.

Accompanied by her stalwart dachshund sidekick Gus, she starts to dig a little deeper. Could it be Fulton’s snobbish bigwig brother, or the suspicious local academic? Why was his goddaughter handing him mysterious parcels, and why wouldn’t his sister-in-law let him in her house?

As Eve unravels the secrets of the living and the dead, one thing is for sure: Fulton was a haunted, hunted man. And if Eve doesn’t crack the case soon, she might find whoever wanted to keep Fulton quiet on her trail too…

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

Author Bio:

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Social Media

Facebook   Twitter Website   Instagram

One comment on “Superb cosy mystery with fantastic characters – Mystery at Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase

  1. Clare Chase
    January 10, 2022

    Thanks so much for this wonderful review, Elaine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: