splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Holiday Plan: An utterly charming, feel-good romance  by Emma Lynden

Wow – so happy to share my review for this heartwarming read with you and introduce you to a new author who I suspect we’ll be reading more from in future! Read on to discover more about this author’s debut novel . . . . and a short excerpt to whet your appetite for more!

Title: The Holiday Plan

Author: Emma Lynden

Publisher: Harpeth Road Press

Published: January 3, 2022

Pages: 301

Rating:

Amazon Link

My Review:

This is a brilliant, debut romcom thoughts of which keep a smile on my face!
Valentine's Day is the catalyst for Verona Scott leaving town at a pace.
She's been let down in romance and wants to escape the date.
She books a holiday back where she had fun . . . then in steps fate!

The venue she's revisiting was a restful retreat back then
But now it is hosting a matchmaking event - she can't escape again!
With heart shaped balloons and singles, all searching for their mate
She's reluctant to join in, but it may provide inspiration . . . she'll blame fate.

The event is being organised by Troy Turner, a single Dad,
He's embroiled in problems of his own but his daughter makes them glad.
He's determined to change Verona's ideas about Valentine's Day
And inspire her next book, if he can get his way!

What a heartwarming read it proved to be,
With great characters and fun, you'll see
With plenty of angst and laughter, too,
I hope this book will also appeal to you!

More by Emma Lynden I'll definitely be looking forward to!
Her story is a lovely read and one I highly recommend to you.
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

Synopsis

“This book is guaranteed to leave you with a warm, fuzzy feeling that will carry you well beyond the holiday and into the next one!” ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ —USA Today Bestselling Author, Jenny Hale

From one of the freshest new voices in clean and wholesome romantic fiction, The Holiday Plan is the perfect escape for fans of Courtney Walsh, Annie Rains, and Debbie Mason.

Native New Yorker and author Verona Scott is battling heartbreak, both personally and professionally. Coming off a disastrous split with her ex, she’s struggling for inspiration to write her next book. And she’s lost without her favorite Aunt Theoni’s wisdom and guidance.

Hoping for a fresh start and to avoid the holiday completely, she’s planned a Valentine’s detox: a luxurious trip alone to the historic Courtington Castle hotel, near the adorably quaint town of Camelot Creek, tucked into a picturesque valley in the Adirondacks.

But escaping the heart-shaped balloons and red roses isn’t as easy as she thought.

This won’t be the restful retreat she’d imagined. Instead, she’s just walked into one of the biggest matchmaking events of the year. Not to mention, the incredibly attractive single dad and dating coach Troy Turner is heading the whole thing up, and he’s on a mission to include Verona in the festivities.

Troy is in the midst of a professional crisis of his own. After a bit of unfounded bad press, the very last thing he needs is a guest to cast doubt in the minds of his attendees.

Will Troy change Verona’s mind about the most romantic day of the year? Just when sparks begin to fly, an unexpected visitor checks into the castle, stirring up the past. No matter what, for Verona, Valentine’s Day is the day where everything changes.

A heartwarming, sweet romance that will whisk you away to a magical winter wonderland, and have you reaching for the hot cocoa and box of chocolates long after the holidays.

An Excerpt to whet your appetite:

This wasn’t how twenty-nine was supposed to feel.

Verona Scott had made a solemn pact on her birthday that the last year of her twenties was going to be one of her best. All the pieces had seemed to be in place. She’d been in the process of writing what she was sure would be another best-selling book—the one that would make up for the lackluster sales and reviews of her most recent titles. And she’d felt certain this would be the year that Alex proposed and she’d start planning her wedding. She’d written down all her hopes and goals, had the timing arranged to a tee.

But, apparently, the universe had missed the memo. Barely six months into her thirtieth year, the second part of the dreamscape she’d spun had unraveled.

Verona buried the box of bridal inspiration, which she’d accidentally stumbled upon when hunting for her favorite sweater, deep inside the bottom drawer of her desk, sealing it away out of sight. She’d been so ready to begin that next chapter with Alex. To settle down and start a family… But what she’d hoped were wedding bells chiming in the not-too-distant future had turned out to be an alarm siren tripped by her boyfriend in his rush out the door.

One comment on “The Holiday Plan: An utterly charming, feel-good romance  by Emma Lynden

  1. Pingback: I’m joining in the #HarlequinReadingChallenge 2022 | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2022 by in Adult, Blog Tour and tagged , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: