splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Night of The Party – it really is a ‘totally jaw-dropping psychological thriller’ – by Anna-Lou Weatherley  

In a beautiful house surrounded by woodland, the Drayton family and their dearest friends are enjoying dinner together. The wine is flowing, the meal has been lovingly prepared, and it’s going to be an evening none of them will ever forget…

A doting mother with a manipulative daughter.

A loving husband lying to his family.

A close friend keeping a shocking secret.

A beautiful girl who will be dead by the end of the night.

A totally unputdownable and nail-bitingly tense psychological thriller with an explosive double twist that will leave you reeling. Fans of Lisa Jewell, Gillian McAllister and Lucy Foley will be hooked on The Night of the Party.

My Review:

If a brilliant crime thriller is just what you need
This is the next book that you need to read!
A story filled with family, secrets, friends and drama
And a young girl who's about to meet her karma....

A party for friends and family is the start
Where everyone plays a significant part.
The young girl plays piano then goes out
She's meeting her friends, then going about.

However, she never returns and panic sets in.
Her Mum is adamant her daughter wouldn't sin.
The police are called and search for her, then
Come back to share she'll not return again.

The murdered daughter has secrets galore
But the detectives will reveal them, that's for sure.
With plenty of suspects, just who did it?
There are too many with motives that will fit!

This story is filled with shocks and surprises
As everyone soon learns and realises
That each other has secrets and made misjudgements, too
Most will be revealed before this story is through.

It is a totally gripping, thrilling tale
That kept me page turning without fail.
A brilliant plot with so many twists and turns
Right to the end, as everyone learns.

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09JCGTD83social

Apple: http://ow.ly/VIf650Grv9q

Google: http://ow.ly/JVjm50Grv9p

Kobo: http://ow.ly/tAup50Grv9s

About the author

I was born in Hampshire but grew up in London where I still live today with my two children. I was originally a dancer who re-trained after a ‘disco accident’ in Ibiza to become a journalist – I’ve even won some awards, though I don’t like to talk about them – ha! I’ve been a women’s lifestyle writer for over fifteen years and am the former editor and acting editor of the fabulous J-17 magazine and Smash Hits respectively and have written for all the major glossies including Grazia, Company, Marie Claire and More, where I was their resident tell-it-like-it-is advice columnist – loads of fun! I’ve also written for NME, Loaded and Front magazine (I can be down with the lads too!).

During my journalistic career I’ve seen and done some amazing stuff, highlights include becoming a nun (for a day), rally racing with the late, great Colin McRae, bunjee jumping off a 350 ft bridge in designer heels, whiskey tasting for a week in Kentucky (don’t remember much of that) and hanging out with all manor of A-list celebrities (er, Take That and Jordan, anyone?).

After I had my son I started to write novels (having children does strange things to a person) and had my first young adult novel, Ibiza Summer, published in 2004. My first adult novel (it is a little racy) Chelsea Wives was published in 2012, followed by Wicked Wives in 2013.

When I’m not writing, which isn’t often, I like to hang upside down on a pole – I’m a qualified pole fitness instructor, and drink fancy wine (though not necessarily at the same time, that woud be dangerous). I adore creating exciting, three dimensional, glamorous and flawed characters against a backdrop of exotic locations. Revenge, sex, sin, glamour, excess, crime and intrigue is my speciality. My next novel, title to come, promises all the above and more!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: