splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

What a fantastic #CrimeThriller – Left for Dead by Joy Kluver – can’t recommend highly enough!

Title: Left for Dead

Series: Detective Bernadette Noel #3

Author: Joy Kluver

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: January 10th 2022

Amazon Apple Kobo    Google  

My Review:

If you enjoy reading about the police solving a case
Take a look at this book and you're in the right place!
However, don't expect anything to be straight forward and plain
This story keeps you guessing, again and again!

A riveting read, with a great detective team,
Working together, supporting each other, it seems.
However there are other teams manipulating them so
They'll need to be extra careful about how they go.

The detective work is brilliant, the characters are great
With plenty to keep you page turning until it's very late.
This is a story I didn't want to leave, not even to sleep
The sort that you carrying on reading is what you want to keep.

I liked the relationships between the team who
Have different reactions to someone that's new.
There are plenty of twists and turns all the way through
That keep you guessing what the killer will next do.

An enthralling read that I really enjoyed and so
I highly recommend that you give it a go
For crime thriller lovers this book is a must
Be wary, however, on just who you trust!

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

About the Book: 

The detective stared at the young woman lying on the bed. She almost looked peaceful, her face like porcelain. Despite everything she had been through, she was still beautiful.

When DI Bernie Noel hurries to Keira Howard’s hospital bedside, she knows that Keira has been lucky. Barely conscious and badly injured, at least she is alive. Convinced that Keira’s attack is the latest in a string of increasingly violent assaults on young women in the area, the next victim might not be so fortunate. So she vows to find the man who did this, and to stop him before anyone else gets hurt.

Spurring her team into action, she quickly hones in on a prime suspect. But then he suddenly dies while on police watch, and Bernie’s investigation goes into freefall. When Bernie’s superiors won’t let her take the case any further, her gut instinct tells her there’s much more to his death than meets the eye. If it was murder, who would want him dead, and why? So she determines to set out on her own to find out what happened.

But the closer Bernie comes to discovering the truth, the more she is putting her own life in danger. And with Keira finally strong enough to talk her about her attack, Bernie worries she may be at risk yet again. There’s someone out there who has killed to stay safe in the shadows; can Bernie stop another senseless death, and save Keira, before it’s too late?

An utterly compelling crime thriller full of twists and suspense, perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Angela Marsons and Cara Hunter.

Author Bio:

Joy Kluver has been an avid reader and writer since childhood. More recently she’s been escaping the madness of motherhood by turning her hand to crime novels. A book blogger, she’s also part of the First Monday Crime team and if you’ve been to any of their events it’s likely you’ve eaten one of her cookies. She also organises author talks for her local library. Joy lives in SW London with her husband and three children. ‘Last Seen’ is her debut novel and the first book in the DI Bernadette Noel series.

Joy is represented by Anne Williams at the Kate Horden Literary Agency.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/joykluverauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JoyKluver

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: