splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb Irish #CrimeThriller with a smidgen of folklore, too – Lost Graves by SA Dunphy – #Review #BooksOnTour

Title: Lost Graves

Series: Boyle and Keneally #2

Author: S. A. Dunphy

Publisher: Bookouture

Published:

Pages:

Rating:

My Review:

This is an enthralling crime thriller
With a deadly serial killer
But the remains of folks from decades past
Suggest these may not be the last.....

The bodies were found by a dog and a lad
Whilst out camping in the forest with his Dad.
The elite special team were then called to investigate
Can they solve what is happening before it's too late?

Jessie, Seamus, Terri and Dawn are great characters who
Are so easy to believe and relate to, too.
The story has elements of myths, legends and more
As well as examples of Irish folklore.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this somewhat gruesome case
And love the sounds of the setting where it takes place.
If you enjoy engaging crime thrillers, this is the book for you,
I highly recommend you try it and see if you agree that is true!

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

Synopsis:

The only sound in the forest was the wind through the branches; the only light came from the campfire. Jessie stood up, suddenly gripped by a powerful sense of dread. There was something – someone – beyond the darkness, through the trees…

When single father Joe Keenan and his young son Finbar make camp for the night in the ancient forest of Leitrim, little do they imagine their rural escape is about to turn into a nightmare. For deep in the woods they find a corpse… As the remains of dozens more victims are uncovered by police, it becomes clear this is the burial site of a serial killer who has obviously been active, unnoticed, for years.

Arrested for the murders, while his beloved son is sent into care, Joe pleads his innocence to no avail. But criminal behaviourist Jessie Boyle is convinced the killer is still out there. Determined to reunite Joe and his son, Jessie’s investigation turns towards the local community. Who knows the shadowy depths of the forest well enough to hide not just one, but many bodies?

Then someone else goes missing, and the situation takes a terrifying turn: it’s clear the killer is escalating their gruesome spree. Forced to enter the woods alone to save a life, Jessie runs from a killer so skilled at hiding and so clever at hunting, it will take every ounce of her strength to make it out alive…

A gripping, nail-biting crime thriller that will have you hooked from the first page to the final line. Fans of Patricia Gibney, Lisa Gardner and Lisa Regan will not want to miss this.

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3KmjQB8

Apple: https://apple.co/30qjIOf

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3vkaCxY

Google: https://bit.ly/3aNIJ86

Author Bio:

Shane Dunphy (S. A. Dunphy) was born in Brighton in 1973, but grew up in Ireland, where he has lived and worked for most of his life. A child protection worker for fifteen years, he is the bestselling author of seventeen books, including the number one Irish bestseller Wednesday’s Child and the Sunday Times Bestseller The Girl Who Couldn’t Smile.

His bestselling series of crime novels (written under the name S. A. Dunphy) feature the criminologist David Dunnigan. Stories From the Margins, his new series of true crime books written for Audible, has been critically acclaimed and the second title in the series, The Bad Place, is an Audible True Crime bestseller. 

https://shanedunphyauthor.org/
https://www.facebook.com/shanewritesbooks
https://www.instagram.com/shanewritesbooks/
https://twitter.com/dunphyshane1

3 comments on “Superb Irish #CrimeThriller with a smidgen of folklore, too – Lost Graves by SA Dunphy – #Review #BooksOnTour

  1. Carla
    January 27, 2022

    This one sounds good Elaine. I just downloaded the first book in the series to read before listening to this one. I like the sound of a folklore and myth angle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Splashes Into Books
      January 27, 2022

      It really is, IMHO -so many unexpected twists as well as links to Irish ☘️ folklore. Hope you enjoy them both!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Superb #Irish #CrimeThriller – Her Child’s Cry by S.A. Dunphy – #BooksOnTour | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: