splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Heartwarming #FamilyDrama – The Girl at the Last House Before the Sea by Liz Eeles #Series #BlogTour

An absolutely addictive and heartbreaking page-turner (Heaven’s Cove Book 3)

My Review:

Newly divorced, with a broken heart,
Freya moves to Heaven's Cove to make a fresh start.
Her half-sister has sorted it all out
A new home and job is what its all about.

Kathleen is widowed, in her eighties and lives alone
But never has a bad thing to say or even moan.
However, she's no longer safe and so
She agrees Freya can be her carer and they'll give it a go.

This is a moving story of folks who are dealing
With life changing events in need of healing.
Whilst most may have occurred in the last few years
One other happened many decades ago but still cause tears.

It is about a family, finding their way after loss
Of near-teenage rebellion, slammed doors and head toss!
It is about healing and finding your way
To smile again, reconnect and brighten your day.

It also concerns events from many years past
Some of which are actually coming to light at last.
It is about finding peace, forgiveness and being true
Sharing your past and what you might do.

I thoroughly enjoyed this heartwarming read,
With mystery, history and romance, indeed.
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
It is a moving family drama and this is my honest review.

Synopsis:

The girl stands on the clifftop, feeling the soft breeze lift her shining red hair and dry her tears. She can almost hear Ireland calling her home across the wild sea. But she can never go back. And in that moment, she swears no-one will ever find out why.

Freya is desperate for escape from her messy break-up when she’s offered a job caring for elderly Kathleen in the seaside village of Heaven’s Cove. Kathleen’s once-red hair is now a brilliant white, but there’s always laughter in her Irish lilt – until the day Freya finds her weeping, her gaze fixed on Driftwood House, perched on the cliffs above the village. She refuses to say what’s wrong…

Kathleen’s son Ryan, quiet with striking emerald eyes, resents that a stranger is caring for his mother. But as Freya presses him for answers on a long walk across a windswept beach, Ryan finally admits that Kathleen breaks down in the same way, on the exact same day every year – never telling anyone what is causing her pain.

Finding a photo of Kathleen as a young girl standing outside Driftwood House years before she says she moved to the village, Freya is determined to find the source of Kathleen’s heartache. But as she gets closer to Ryan, and to the sad, forgotten history of the house, Freya is faced with an impossible decision…

Should she share this heartbreaking secret with Ryan and risk their chance of happiness together? And will facing the truth bring Kathleen peace in her final years – or will it tear them all apart?

An absolutely breath-taking and heartbreaking page-turner about healing old sorrows and finding new joys. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Barbara O’Neal, and anyone longing to escape to the rugged Devon coast.

Author bio:

Liz writes heart-warming and uplifting women’s fiction about families and relationships, and romantic comedies full of love and laughs.

She worked as a journalist for years and brought up a family on the south coast of England, all the while writing fiction on the quiet. After being short-listed in a couple of national novel-writing competitions, her dream of being a published author came true when she was signed by Bookouture.

When not writing, Liz likes walking by the sea, catching up with friends and binge-watching box sets. She also loves hearing from readers and can be contacted at www.lizeeles.com, or on social media.

Author social media

Website: www.lizeeles.com

Twitter:@lizeelesauthor

Facebook: www.facebook.com/lizeelesauthor

Instagram: @lizeelesauthor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: