splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Mystery at Lovelace Manor by Clare Chase

Title: Mystery at Lovelace Manor 

Series: An Eve Mallow Mystery #8

Author: Clare Chase

Pub Day: May 17th 2022

Pages: 328

Buy Link: 

https://geni.us/B09PJPYTJMsocial

My Review:

If you enjoy reading a cosy mystery
One set in a Manor with lots of history
Involving secrets, plans and murder, too,
This could be the book that's right for you!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book today
A great read, a page turner, I have to say.
With Eve Mallow unable to resist the desire
To investigate events, starting with a deadly fire.

The Manor is famous for a long ago romance
With visitors dreaming of a similar chance.
The annual open day is popular, too,
With lots of people coming to view.

A TV historian is the guest of honour this year
But her planned spectacular costs her dear.
As Eve endeavours to discover what happened then
She's on the track of a killer again.

Get ready for characters to distrust....
Following the clues uncovered is a must!
Can you identify who did what - and why
Despite all the twists, secrets and lies?

I really enjoyed reading this book 
And highly recommend you give it more than a look
For my complementary copy, I say thank you,
An intriguing, enthralling read and this is my honest review.

About the Book: 

Lovelace Manor has a famous past… but when a historian becomes history at its annual open day, amateur sleuth Eve Mallow is on the case!

Everyone in Saxford St Peter flocks to Lovelace Sunday, the festival celebrating the romantic history of beautiful Lovelace Manor. This year will be even more exciting, as famous TV historian Cammie Harington is planning a spectacular stunt with a hot-air balloon for her new show.

Eve Mallow jumps at the chance to volunteer – it’s a great people-watching opportunity. But she soon realises there is no love lost between Cammie and the family who owns the manor… so why did Cammie agree to come?

When Cammie’s hot-air balloon tumbles from the sky, Eve feels sure this is no accident. Alongside dachshund Gus, she sets to work investigating the mystery, piecing together all the odd things she’s seen and heard.

Could the killer be discreet Diana, lady of the manor, who fell out with Cammie years ago? Or Diana’s dashing brother Sebastian, whose dark secret Cammie knew? Why was the loyal gardener following Cammie around? And had Cammie uncovered something explosive about the manor’s past, as she claimed?

When someone breaks into Cammie’s cottage and a priceless Lovelace heirloom goes missing, Eve is sure she’s on the right track… but can she solve the case, before the killer brings her crashing down?

A completely gripping English cozy mystery, perfect for fans of Frances Evesham, J.R. Ellis and Betty Rowlands.

Author Bio:

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Website: www.clarechase.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/clarechaseauthor/

Bookouture email signup: https://www.bookouture.com/clare-chase

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

2 comments on “Mystery at Lovelace Manor by Clare Chase

  1. Clare Chase
    May 21, 2022

    Thanks so much for this wonderful, creative review, Elaine! I love reading them every time. And I’m so happy that you enjoyed the book! 🙂

    Like

  2. Carla
    May 21, 2022

    Great review, Elaine. I like the sound of this series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: