splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Great addition to this brilliant #1920s #CosyMystery series – The French for Murder by Verity Bright

A grand villa, croissants for breakfast and a dead body in the wine cellar… Lady Swift can’t seem to take a vacation from murder!

Summer 1923. Lady Eleanor Swift is finally persuaded by her butler, Clifford, to take a villa in the south of France for the season. She plans to do what a glamorous lady abroad should: long lunches on the balcony followed by lazy afternoons lounging by the pool. Even Gladstone the bulldog is looking forward to a daily paddle in the ocean.

But when Clifford examines the wine cellar, he discovers there are no decent reds but there is a very dead body. The victim is famous American movie star Rex Armstrong. Poor Rex seems to have been stabbed with a sword from the film set. So how did he end up in Eleanor’s villa?

Before Eleanor even has time to change out of her travelling suit, her beloved butler is arrested for the crime. At sea without her right-hand man, Eleanor must gather her wits if she’s to outsmart a murderer and save Clifford.

Attending a glitzy party at the luxurious Hotel Azure with the film’s cast and crew so she can question her main suspects, Eleanor overhears the director having a most unsettling telephone call that throws all her theories out of the water. Can Eleanor unmask the true killer before her time abroad is cut murderously short?

A gripping historical murder mystery full of charm and intrigue, set in the beautiful French Riviera. Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss will adore The French for Murder.

My Review:

Helping identify so many murderers, time for a change of scene so
Lady Eleanor Swift - and her staff - to the south of France go.
However, on arrival there her butler is shocked to discover
The body of a man who has been murdered - yes, another!

Get ready for Clifford arrested and to have to spend time
Even though he has committed no crime!
Eleanor is blackmailed into helping solve this case
Leaving Clifford in jail isn't something she can face!

There are movie stars involved in a filming endeavour
With Americans arranging the best parties ever!
Can Eleanor help identify the victim's killer
In this engaging historical murder mystery thriller?

Her staff are all great characters, too,
And their reactions are brilliant to anything new.
The series gives an insight into life in those days
The new gadgets, roles and as well as how they play.

This is an enthralling adventure I recommend to you
A thrilling French adventure and cosy mystery, too.
For my complementary copy, I say thank you,
As I share with you this, my honest review

Buy Link: Amazon: https://geni.us/B09SZSXT2Lsocial

Author Bio:

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

https://twitter.com/BrightVerity

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Verity Bright here: https://www.bookouture.com/verity-bright/

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

6 comments on “Great addition to this brilliant #1920s #CosyMystery series – The French for Murder by Verity Bright

  1. Verity Bright
    June 5, 2022

    Hi Elaine – thank you so much for your wonderful review – in verse as ever 🙂 So glad you enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Splashes Into Books
      June 5, 2022

      My pleasure! I certainly did enjoy reading it – thoroughly enjoying every story in this series and looking forward to reading more in future!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Verity Bright
    June 5, 2022

    Hi Elaine – apologies, not sure if it was Monika who left the review?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Splashes Into Books
      June 5, 2022

      No idea who Monika is, the only person posting reviews here this year is me (Elaine 🤣)!

      Like

  3. Verity Bright
    June 6, 2022

    Sorry – been a little under the weather lately and have got a few things muddled 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: