splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Wonderful, inspirational 5* read – An Island Summer by Jenny Hale

Title: An Island Summer

Author: Jenny Hale

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: June 9th 2022 

Buy Links:  Amazon: https://geni.us/B09VVHGP6Jsocial

Apple: http://ow.ly/k9qh50InU4W

Kobo: http://ow.ly/WPkQ50InU7t

Google: http://ow.ly/PEzO50InU9X

My Review

From this talented author comes this amazingly wonderful read -
So fantastic, with plenty of twists and surprises, just what I'd need.
Meghan Gray has had enough of city life and unsure what to do
So she returns to her childhood home to consider her life anew.

She lived with her Pappy, in his cottage near the ocean shore
It is hers now, filled with memories, now her Pappy is no more.
With her best friend beside her they contemplate where to start
The cottage needs clearing but how to decide with which things to part?

An elderly gentleman, with dementia, thinks Meghan is someone from his past
He seems pleased to see her again despite all the years have passed.
Sorting things out is heartbreaking and evocative, too,
But what they find also sparks a mystery concerning what is true.

A gorgeous read of considering just what you want to do
Of being brave, looking at options, and then following through.
It is also about evaluating what's important in life for you
And making them the priority in everything you choose to do.

An inspirational journey, I really enjoyed this moving read, 
And hope my review helps show you it is one you really need.
For my complementary copy, I say thank you,
As I share with you this, my honest review.

About the Book: 

In the summer, everything feels possible… A heartwarming small-town romance about new beginnings, old secrets and how home is truly where the heart is. Fans of Susan Mallery, Pamela Kelley, and Mary Alice Monroe will fall head over heels for this romantic page-turner.

All that Meghan Gray has left of her beloved Pappy is his cottage on the edge of the shimmering Atlantic Ocean. Longing to feel close to her grandfather, she returns to the golden sands of Hatteras Island in the Outer Banks for the summer, clutching the manilla envelope he gifted her tightly in her hand.

On her first night on the sun-drenched island, she meets brooding Toby Meyers, a local businessman. She might feel lost without Pappy, but looking into Toby’s sparkling blue eyes feels like coming home.

The beach house where she spent her childhood is just how she remembers: a shingled bungalow with two rocking chairs on the porch and shutters on the windows. As Meghan strolls along the sand with Toby, breathing in the salty air, she realizes she is making new memories…

When Meghan opens the envelope, she finds a black-and-white photograph of someone she doesn’t recognize. If she can find out its meaning, and why Pappy gave it to her, she’ll unlock a secret that has been hidden for decades. The truth has the power to change everything Meghan and Toby thought they knew about their lives—and it will either bring them together, or break their hearts…

Author Bio

Jenny Hale is a USA Today, Amazon, and international bestselling author of romantic contemporary fiction. Her books have sold worldwide, have been translated into multiple languages, and adapted for television. Her novels Coming Home for Christmas and Movie Guide Epiphany Award winner Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses are Hallmark Channel original movies.

She was included in Oprah Magazine’s “19 Dreamy Summer Romances to Whisk You Away” and Southern Living’s “30 Christmas Novels to Start Reading Now.” Her stories are chock-full of feel-good romance and overflowing with warm settings, great friends, and family. Jenny is at work on her next novel, delighted to be bringing even more heartwarming stories to her readers.

When she isn’t writing, she can be found running around her hometown of Nashville with her husband, two boys, and their labradoodle, taking pictures—her favorite pastime.

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jennyhaleauthor

Website: http://itsjennyhale.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jhaleauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jhaleauthor

Bookouture Email sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/jenny-hale

One comment on “Wonderful, inspirational 5* read – An Island Summer by Jenny Hale

  1. Pingback: Book Highlight: An Island Summer by Jenny Hale – The Lily Cafe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: