splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Brilliant Historical Cosy Mystery – Murder at the Priory Hotel by Merryn Allingham – such a great read!

Join Flora Steele – bookshop owner, bicycle-rider, and amateur detective – as she faces her most puzzling case yet!

My Review:

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this cosy mystery
Complete with its sense of history.
Set back in 1957 in the village of Abbeymead
It could well be the next book that you need!

Flora Steele is attending the Priory Hotel
Hoping everything at the re-opening will go well.
She, along with everyone else there, had a nasty surprise
As they witnessed the lead singer's untimely demise.

A missing ruby ring, lots of suspects and secrets galore
Flora and Jack Carrington are on the case once more!
Can they find clues that will help to reveal
Whatever someone is wanting to conceal?

A taste of village life, a possible romance,
A murder to solve if they're given the chance!
What an engrossing, fun read it proved to be
Now future books I just can't wait to see!

For my complementary copy, I say thank you,
As I share with you this, my honest review.

Book Description:

Sussex, 1957: When Flora Steele and handsome crime writer Jack Carrington attend the grand re-opening of the Priory Hotel in the beautiful little village of Abbeymead, their day out is cut short when the flame-haired female singer in the band suddenly drops dead before their eyes.

Flora is stunned by the unexpected turn of events and immediately deduces foul play. Beverly Russo was a spirited young woman with a big voice and Flora is determined to get to the bottom of her untimely demise – especially as the detective sergeant leading the investigation is so hopeless. The first clue in the extraordinary case is Beverly’s missing ruby ring…

As Flora makes her enquiries, she discovers that Beverly wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea and there’s more than one person in Abbeymead who had reason to dislike her. But who had the biggest motive: Beverly’s former beau Tommy May, jealous love rival Sally Jenner, or the local doctor who seems to be up to no good…

Then one of the suspects is found dead in the woods near the Priory Hotel. The murder weapon – a musical instrument. As the investigation reaches a high note, Flora knows she must find the culprit and make them face the music before anyone else is hurt. But will Flora’s tenacity put a dangerous spotlight on both her and Jack?

A delightful cozy crime novel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis!

Buy Link: Amazon: https://geni.us/B09VK7X3GRsocial

Author Bio:

Merryn taught university literature for many years, and it took a while to pluck up the courage to begin writing herself. Bringing the past to life is a passion and her historical fiction includes Regency romances, wartime sagas and timeslip novels, all of which have a mystery at their heart. As the books have grown darker, it was only a matter of time before she plunged into crime with a cosy crime series set in rural Sussex against the fascinating backdrop of the 1950s.

Merryn lives in a beautiful old town in Sussex with her husband and one last cat, Bluebell. When she’s not writing, she tries to keep fit with adult ballet classes and plenty of walking.

Social media links:

https://www.facebook.com/MerrynWrites

https://twitter.com/merrynwrites

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Merryn Allingham here: https://www.bookouture.com/merryn-allingham

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

2 comments on “Brilliant Historical Cosy Mystery – Murder at the Priory Hotel by Merryn Allingham – such a great read!

  1. Carla
    July 27, 2022

    I keep saying I am going to give this series a try. Wonderful review, Elaine.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 1950s #CosyMystery – Murder at St Saviour’s by Merryn Allingham – fascinating read! | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: