splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

A horrendous history….a place filled with death, misery and mystery…. Hidden Bones by Rita Herron

Title: Hidden Bones

Series: Detective Ellie Reeves #6

Author: Rita Herron

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: August 8th, 2022

Buy Links: 

https://geni.us/B09VTN1FZGsocial

My Review:

A horrendous history....
A place filled with death, misery and mystery....
With secrets to be discovered...
If the truth is to be uncovered....

Four teen friends out camping where they didn't ought
Signs of ghosts are what they sought
Instead they run, scared by what?
One trips into a pit and discovers bones - a lot!

Detective Ellie Reeves comes to the rescue 
But now she's a new case where the bones are the first clue.
The place was a children's home thirty years ago
When the owner left, to go where we don't know.

Thirty years ago rumours about abuse and more
That occurred in the home were very much to the fore.
Detectives then looked into the case
But then surmised there was nothing out of place.

Did they hide the truth - and if so, why?
What would be a motive to lie?
Why have the files from the case been stolen now?
Would they reveal the what, when and how?

What an intriguing read this proved to be!
With a serial killer marking new victims for all to see.
Why should they be killing folks with links in the past?
Can Ellie uncover the truth at last?

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

About the Book: 

The girl trips over branches, losing her footing. The darkness swallows her and she grabs thin air as she falls, her scream piercing the night. When she slams into the bottom of the pit, her heart hammers. She can’t believe what she’s seeing—a pile of perfect white bones…

In the small town of Crooked Creek, where the Appalachian Mountains climb into the clouds, nineteen-year-old Mandy’s Spring Break takes a sinister turn. Detective Ellie Reeves races straight to the scene, driving through the winding roads to the abandoned orphanage.

Ellie saves the teenage girl but discovers human remains that have been there for thirty years, ever since the home for children closed down. Her heart shatters at the thought that they might belong to the helpless orphans.

Working day and night on the case, Ellie searches for the orphanage’s files, but they have been stolensomebody is clearly trying to cover their tracks. As she interviews the residents of the mountain community, Ellie finds out that almost everyone connected to the children’s home has disappeared.

Then a woman is found dead, her body marked with a strange symbol. When Ellie learns that the victim used to work at the orphanage, it’s clear that a twisted killer is trying to stop the truth coming out.

Ellie vows to solve this case that spans decades and, when her research into the meaning of the symbol leads her to a local business at the heart of recent controversy, she’s on the right track. Can she bring the secrets to light before another innocent person is murdered? And when she gets too close to uncovering the truth, will she survive?

A totally gripping and pulse-pounding crime-thriller that will have you holding your breath as you race through the pages! Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh.

Author Bio:

USA Today Bestselling and award-winning author Rita Herron fell in love with books at the ripe age of eight when she read her first Trixie Belden mystery. But she didn’t think real people grew up to be writers, so she became a teacher instead. Now she writes so she doesn’t have to get a real job.

With over ninety books to her credit, she’s penned romantic suspense, romantic comedy, and YA novels, but she especially likes writing dark romantic suspense and crime fiction set in small southern towns.

For more on Rita and her titles, visit her at www.ritaherron.com. You can also find her on Facebook/ritaherron.com and Twitter @ritaherron.

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorritaherron/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ritaherron

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ritaherronauthor/

Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/rita-herron

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: