splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb #CrimeThriller and #FamilyDrama – Catch Her Death by Wendy Dranfield

My Review

Christmas should be a time of good cheer
But in Lost Creek it is a time of fear this year.
Another enthralling case with clues in the past
Can Madison bring a serial killer to justice at last?

Why would a leave the son whilst killing their Mum?
What links the victims - are there more to come?
Is it someone new or have they killed before?
Can they bring him to justice before he kills any more?

A story filled with family drama and secrets from the past,
Along with new team members and reunions at last.
Can Madison's new partner be supportive and keen
Or will he prove to be self-centred and mean?

With new characters joining and different paths to take
What difference to Madison and Nate will this all make?
Her father's past and secrets all play a part
In this investigation right from the very start.

If you enjoy crime thrillers packed with drama, too
I can't recommend this highly enough to you!
For my complementary copy, I say thank you,
As I share with you this, my honest review.

Synopsis:

“Mommy, wake-up,” he cries, pulling at her beautiful blonde hair. She’s silent, and her skin is deathly white. Tears roll down his cheeks as he realizes something is very wrong…

As snow falls on the small town of Lost Creek, Colorado, a three-year-old boy is found playing quietly in his car seat, his mother, cold as ice, slumped against the steering wheel in front. Tearing herself away from reconnecting with her special agent father who abandoned her for his career, Detective Madison Harper is haunted by the fear in the boy’s sky-blue eyes, and vows to find justice for this innocent child, left motherless just days before Christmas.

Madison works around the clock on her only clue: a perfect circle of clean glass found on the car’s rear window. But she’s stopped in her tracks the moment another mother is found dead outside a church during Midnight Mass, her young boy left sucking his thumb on the frozen ground beside her. It can’t be a coincidence.

The need to spare the children might hint to the suspect being a woman, but the deeper Madison digs, the closer she gets to a serial killer her own father spent a lifetime chasing. Has the killer followed her father here? Could Madison, single mother to a son herself, be next?

As a blizzard closes in, wreaking havoc on the investigation, Madison hits the same dead ends her father did all those years ago. But when her closest friend goes missing, Madison must dive into the mind of this twisted soul and risk it all to stop another heart-shattering tragedy. But will she make it in time?

An absolutely gripping read that will get your pulse pounding! Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot.

Buy link: https://geni.us/B0B6WQK2RFsocial

About Wendy Dranfield

Wendy is the bestselling author of the Detective Madison Harper crime series.

She is a former coroner’s assistant turned crime writer who writes a mixture of standalone thrillers, crime series and short stories. Some of her books have been shortlisted for various writing competitions and awards, including the Mslexia novel writing competition and the International Thriller Writer Awards.

You can find more information on her website: wendydranfield.co.uk

Author social media

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WendyDranfield

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WendyDranfield1/

Website: wendydranfield.co.uk

Instagram: @wendy_dranfield

Author newsletter sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/wendy-dranfield

2 comments on “Superb #CrimeThriller and #FamilyDrama – Catch Her Death by Wendy Dranfield

  1. Carla
    September 11, 2022

    Great review, Elaine. Someday, I will get to this series. I like that this is a Christmas story though.

    Like

    • Splashes Into Books
      September 11, 2022

      Definitely a series I’m enjoying and always look out for, suspect it is one you shouldn’t miss out on! You just need your tbr mountain to shrink (and so do I!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: