splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Fascinating 1920’s #CosyMystery – Death Among the Diamonds by Fliss Chester

My Review:

Step back into the 1920s period of history
In this brilliant cosy murder mystery!
Along with so many secrets to discover -
And the family diamonds to recover!

The Honourable Cressida Fawcett is off to for the weekend
With her best friend her time to spend.
There are plans for a cocktail party and visitors galore
Along with the chance to explore ideas for new decor!

However, with disappearing diamonds and new folks, too,
There's plenty to keep Cressida enthralled - as well as you!
A young chandelier cleaner to his death fell,
Was it an accident or murder - who can tell?

With relationships to explore
Bad feelings best not to ignore
Betrayal, secret plans and murder, too,
All will come to light as you read through.

I enjoyed how Cressida doesn't fit into the norm
For she's independent, feisty, determined and stubborn.
She clashes with the Detective investigating the case
But Ruby, her pug, helps her find how the clues fit in place.

Such a fascinating read, I'm now looking forward to
Having the opportunity to reading book two!
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
I throughly enjoyed reading it and this is my honest review.

Book Description:

Everyone in 1920s London knows the Honourable Cressida Fawcett: fiercely independent (though never apart from her little pug Ruby), lover of martinis and interior designer extraordinaire. She’s solved many crimes of fashion… so how about murder?

Cressida Fawcett is heading to the English countryside for a weekend of cocktails and partying at her friend’s glamorous mansion, the location of a recent diamond heist. But just hours after her arrival, Cressida is woken by an almighty scream. Rushing to the landing, she looks down into the great hall to find a trembling maid standing next to the body of Harry, the friendly young chandelier cleaner.

Everyone believes Harry’s death was an accident. But as Cressida examines the opulent hall and the beautiful grounds, she thinks something darker is afoot. Why clean a chandelier in the early hours of the morning? And who overheard Harry boasting about coming into unexpected wealth? A small piece of torn silk found near the body has Cressida looking at the guests’ elegant clothes with fresh eyes…

The short-tempered Detective insists that she keeps her curious nose out of the investigation, but it’s Cressida who realises the stolen diamonds were hidden in the sparkling chandelier. Convinced there is a connection between the theft and the murder, the case takes a sinister turn when a guest is killed in his sleep after a brandy-fuelled night of cards. With everyone unable to leave, can Cressida’s sharp eye for detail catch the killer before another life is taken?

An absolutely gripping and utterly charming 1920s murder mystery packed with wit, glamour and intrigue. The perfect whodunnit for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Downton Abbey!

Buy Link:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B5LNRLRYsocial

Audio Links:

UK: zpr.io/5TH6WL7X6AsX
US: zpr.io/CHm3wmGbN8AW

Listen to a sample here:

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Author Bio:

Fliss Chester lives in Surrey with her husband and writes historical cozy crime. When she is not killing people off in her 1940s whodunnits, she helps her husband, who is a wine merchant, run their business. Never far from a decent glass of something, Fliss also loves cooking (and writing up her favourite recipes on her blog), enjoying the beautiful Surrey and West Sussex countryside and having a good natter.

https://www.instagram.com/flisschester/

https://twitter.com/SocialWhirlGirl

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Fliss Chester here:  https://www.bookouture.com/fliss-chester

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: