splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#FamilyDrama and #CrimeThriller – The Silent Dead by Marnie Riches

She was lying as if asleep on the wooden kitchen floor, beneath the fridge covered with a child’s colourful crayon drawings. But her frozen expression showed she would never wake again…

My Review:

Get ready for a story with family drama and more
As Detective Jackie Cooke the clues tries to explore.
She's a recent new Mum with little time,
Endeavours to continue fighting crime.

The pressure mounts when a body if found
Her old school friend, Claire, lies dead on the ground.
There's a note saying "Sorry" but who left it there?
Is it suicide or murder, just who should care?

With more murders having a similar MO
Is this a serial killer she needs to know.
With an obvious suspect, is it straightforward or not?
Is killing single Mum's part of his plot?

Under pressure, she's trying to juggle her life,
Her family and career without causing more strife.
But she's a single Mum, so could she be a target too?
Bringing the perpetrator to justice is what she must do!

An enthralling read, with twists galore,
As this killer strikes bringing furore.
For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
What a chilling, crime thriller and this is my honest review.

Book Description:

When Detective Jackie Cooke is called out to the scene, she’s expecting a routine check. The bottle of pills on the kitchen table, next to the note with the single word SORRY written in a shaky hand, make it seem obvious what’s happened. But Jackie is shocked when she recognises her old schoolfriend Claire – and she is convinced Claire would never take her own life.

Determined to dig deeper, Jackie soon discovers evidence that proves her right: a roll of notes has been thrust down the victim’s throat. And when she finds another woman killed in the same way, she realises someone may be targeting lonely single mothers. As Jackie talks to Claire’s distraught children, one of them too young to understand his mummy is never coming home, she vows to find answers.

Both victims were in touch with someone calling himself Nice Guy – could he be the killer? Pursuing every clue, Jackie is sure she’s found a match in dead-eyed Tyler, part of a dark world of men intent on silencing women for daring to reject them. But just as she makes the arrest, another single mother is found dead – a woman who never dated at all.

Forced to re-evaluate every lead she has, with her boss pressuring her to make a case against the obvious suspect, Jackie knows she is running out of time before another innocent woman is murdered. And, as a single mother herself, she cannot help but wonder if she is in the killer’s sights. Can she uncover his true motivation and put an end to his deadly game… or will he find her first?

A completely unputdownable crime thriller that will have you reading long into the night. Perfect for fans of Kendra Elliott, Rachel McLean and Val McDermid.

Author Bio:

Marnie Riches grew up on a rough estate in north Manchester. Exchanging the spires of nearby Strangeways prison for those of Cambridge University, she gained a Masters in German & Dutch. She has been a punk, a trainee rock star, a pretend artist and professional fundraiser.

Her best-selling, award-winning George McKenzie crime thrillers were inspired by her own time spent in The Netherlands. Dubbed the Martina Cole of the North, she has also authored a series about Manchester’s notorious gangland as well as two books in a mini-series featuring quirky northern PI Bev Saunders.

Detective Jackson Cooke is Marnie’s latest heroine to root for, as she hunts down one of the most brutal killers the north west has ever seen at devastating personal cost.

When she isn’t writing gritty, twisty crime thrillers, Marnie also regularly appears on BBC Radio Manchester, commenting on social media trends and discussing the world of crime fiction. She is a Royal Literary Fund Fellow at Salford University’s Doctoral School and a tutor for the Faber Novel Writing Course.

https://marnieriches.com/

https://www.facebook.com/MarnieRichesAuthor

https://www.instagram.com/marnie_riches/

https://twitter.com/Marnie_Riches

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Marnie Riches here: https://www.bookouture.com/marnie-riches

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B3DQDSJ4social

Audio Links:

UK: zpr.io/vVndWKZu9Ujv
US: zpr.io/Xq3hcfseUfCh

Listen to a sample here:

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: