splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Superb #CosyMystery – Mystery at Southwood School by Clare Chase – great addition to brill series!

Title: Mystery at Southwood School

Series: An Eve Mallow Mystery

Author: Clare Chase

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Day: Nov 10th 2022

Buy Link(s): 

https://geni.us/B09ZVN1MJZsocial

Audible:

UK: http://ow.ly/uWnI50LsYZF

US: http://ow.ly/BbMB50LsYZG

Listen here: http://ow.ly/g50k50LsYZE

My Review:

Eve Mallow is going to Southwood School
Where someone is out to break their rule!
Catering for the celebrations for Foundation Day
Should be a simple, uneventful stay.

The guest of honour, Natalie Somerson, is a former student who
Always enjoyed getting into mischief, too.
Why was Natalie selected when most seem her to fear?
Especially as the role supposedly lasts for a year!

When Natalie is discovered, decidedly dead,
No one about her has a single good word to be said.
Eve can't resist investigating what's happening here
Especially as her love's name she needs to clear!

With teachers, students and other staff as suspects, as you'll see
Surprise discoveries have Eve wondering just who the killer could be.
With danger, secrets and surprises, too,
This is an enthralling read I highly recommend to you!

For my complementary copy of this book, I say thank you,
This is a brilliant cosy mystery and this is my honest review.

About the Book: 

Eve Mallow’s going back to school! But when a former student is murdered, Eve must discover who taught her a deadly lesson…

Eve Mallow is delighted when she’s asked to cater Founders’ Day at Southwood School. It’s the best – and most secretive – school for miles around, and Eve can’t wait to see what it’s really like. But when she arrives, the atmosphere is far from scholarly. Natalie Somerson, ex-pupil and professional gossip, is the guest of honour, but nobody seems to want her there… especially when her speech stirs up an old scandal about a secret love affair. So why was she invited?

The next morning, Natalie is found dead in a locked attic room. To make matters worse, Eve’s boyfriend Robin becomes the police’s prime suspect. Determined to prove his innocence, Eve starts to investigate everyone with a stake in the school. Is it the prudish principal, worried about Natalie’s influence? Her former teacher, whose life Natalie made miserable? Or the head girl, who seemed to hate Natalie one day and adore her the next?

When strange letters arrive at the school and Eve finds a bottle of Natalie’s perfume in the most unexpected place, she senses time is running out to save Robin’s good name. Eve had better study her suspects and unmask the real killer… before they give her a fatal mark!

An utterly delightful and page-turning English cozy mystery, perfect for fans of Frances Evesham, J.R. Ellis and Agatha Christie.

Author Bio:

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Website: www.clarechase.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/clarechaseauthor/

Bookouture email signup: https://www.bookouture.com/clare-chase

One comment on “Superb #CosyMystery – Mystery at Southwood School by Clare Chase – great addition to brill series!

  1. Clare Chase
    November 10, 2022

    Thank you so much for the special, creative review, Elaine! I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: